Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

And then it was spring and finally summer

Bard and I hiked yesterday and parts of the ground looked like they were moving as hundreds of these little toads hopped about.

Brad and I hiked yesterday and parts of the ground looked like they were moving as hundreds of these little toads hopped about.

Huge crayfish (by Michigan standards...maybe 7 inches.

Huge crayfish (by Michigan standards…maybe 7 inches)

IMG_1971

IMG_1963

Speckled May Apple? I've never seen this coloration before?

Speckled May Apple? I’ve never seen this coloration before?

IMG_1959

Cleome

Cleome

Clematis

Clematis

IMG_1951

Cute snail/ terrible garden pest

Cute snail/ terrible garden pest

Poppy

Poppy

IMG_1842

Wild Geranium

Wild Geranium

IMG_1833

Wild Violet

Wild Violet

Lupine

Lupine

Almost out

Almost out

Tent worms

Tent worms

Wild strawberry

Wild strawberry

IMG_1800

Swallow

Swallow

IMG_1777

IMG_1772

Lupine

Lupine

IMG_1753

I finally have a garden again and it's a wonderful feeling.

I finally have a garden again and it’s a wonderful feeling.

7 responses

  1. I didn’t know crayfish could live in Michigan. I thought they were limited to the south, as I saw plenty of them in AR, KY, IN and VA, but none in NH.

    June 28, 2014 at 1:23 pm

  2. Curt Landgraff

    Great photos, Melissa. Have you ever tried to catch a crayfish with you hands? A must do!

    June 28, 2014 at 1:53 pm

  3. We have crawfish up here in WA, but they are tiny, As always well done, love the pics!

    June 28, 2014 at 9:55 pm

  4. Anonymous

    Melissa, it is wonderful to see your photos again. Continue on!

    June 29, 2014 at 4:59 pm

  5. Have you ever thought about publishing an e-book or guest authoring on other sites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would value your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send
    me an e mail.

    August 2, 2014 at 7:17 pm

  6. Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate
    your content. Please let me know. Thanks

    October 3, 2014 at 5:39 am

  7. Beautiful photos. My favorite is Clematis photo.

    January 24, 2015 at 3:26 am

thoughts?

