Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Summer’s end (…and Brad’s too)

Late summer flowers

Late summer flowers

IMG_9159

Flowers and invasive Japanese beetles

Flowers and invasive Japanese beetles

Making grubs, out of nothing at all.

Making grubs…. outta of nothing at all.

Black eyed Susan

Black eyed Susan

IMG_6931

The butterflies are starting to look beat up and bedraggled.

The butterflies are starting to look beat up and bedraggled.

I spent a week with my extended family and the girls a few hours north at a cottage on a lake. I found this on Leah's night stand the first night of our stay.

I spent a week with my extended family and the girls a few hours north at a cottage on a lake. I found this on Leah’s night stand the first night of our stay.

Sand dunes along the western shore of Lake Michigan.That black bit in the distance is my boyfriend.

Sand dunes along the western shore of Lake Michigan. That black bit in the distance is my boyfriend.

My nieces, nephews and daughters on the dunes.

My nieces, nephews and daughters on the dunes.

My Brad's booty on the dunes.

My Brad’s booty on the dunes.

Silver Lake. Lake Michigan is just on the other side of the sand dune across the lake.

Silver Lake. Lake Michigan is just on the other side of the sand dune across the lake.

IMG_7029

We saw beautiful sunsets.

We saw beautiful sunsets.

IMG_9478

And we saw a Bald Eagle cruise the lake hunting for a few days.

And we saw a Bald Eagle cruise the lake hunting for a few days.

IMG_9686

IMG_9687

IMG_9607

Large spiders waiting back home.

Large spiders waiting back home.

Spider and my ear phones.

Spider and my ear phones.

And other amazing critters like this bee in the garden.

And other amazing critters like this bee in the garden.

And this lovely preying mantis. Years ago my friend Kelly bought me a few mantis cocoons for my birthday and I get to treasure her gift every year since.

And this lovely preying mantis. Years ago my friend Kelly bought me a few mantis cocoons for my birthday and I get to treasure her gift every year since.

This one was enjoying a fly or bee when I spotted it.

This one was enjoying a fly or bee when I spotted it.

And it only has one antennae. One of the things I love about photography is the ability to see things in detail. Making these discoveries, which usually involve a missing leg or antennae, are thrilling to me.

And it only has one antennae. One of the things I love about photography is the ability to observe things in detail. Making these discoveries, which usually involve spotting a missing leg or antennae, are thrilling to me.

Some sort of moth on the garage door. It's pretty fancy.

Some sort of a moth on the garage door. It’s pretty fancy.

A coyote in the neighborhood.

A coyote in the neighborhood.

I saw this on my way to work and had to call in late saying I was witnessing something much better than being trapped in a stinky office.

I saw this on my way to work and had to call in late saying I was witnessing something much better than being trapped in a stinky office.

IMG_7076

I spotted this on my way out of my child's doctor appointment before dropping her off to dance class. I'm always glad to have my camera ride in the passenger seat.

I spotted this on my way out of my child’s doctor appointment before dropping her off to dance class. Im always glad to have my camera ride in the passenger seat.

This is from a few weeks ago. I walked through this section with my love and most of the ferns were brown and gold and flattened. Fall is here in Michigan. I plan on posting yesterday's fall photos soon.

This is from a few weeks ago. I walked through this section with my love and most of the ferns were brown and gold and flattened. Fall is here in Michigan. I plan on posting yesterday’s fall photos soon.

Fall morning light.

Fall morning light.

21 responses

  1. Wonderful! Those look like coneflowers. So pretty. We live on coneflower now, so we had to look them up. Alot like daisies. :)

    October 6, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    • melissakoski

      Yes coneflowers. The birds love the seeds and I’ve been slowly collecting a few interesting colors in the orange and red families. :)

      October 7, 2013 at 6:27 am

  2. Gosh, where have you been, Melissa. I missed you. You certainly made up for lost time here with some wonderful photos. You also brought back memories with thos sand dune images. Glad to read about Michigan through those beautiful eyes of yours. :-)

    October 6, 2013 at 6:41 pm

    • melissakoski

      Oh Bob I’ve miss you too! I’ve just been trapped indoors at work and driving the kids to school and dance. I’m not ready for our gray winter season yet because I feel like I’ve hardly enjoyed summer! And here fall is in full swing. My computer was fickle for a few months too limiting my activity. Hope you and Ann have been well and having fun. xoxo!

      October 6, 2013 at 6:49 pm

  3. Melissa, a few years ago I was sitting out on the patio of the friend I was visiting and all of a sudden we seemed surrounded by itsy-bitsy teeny-tiny miniscule (I mean, they were *small*) pale green perfect little mantis babies. It was quite a sight and an experience that I will always remember fondly.

    October 6, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    • melissakoski

      That is awesome to know. I guess the cocoons hatch a ton of the little ones, but despite checking on them every year on the hour, I have never even spotted one in their small stages. I’m holding onto hope now- thank you!

      October 6, 2013 at 7:12 pm

  4. Anonymous

    And she’s back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    October 6, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    • melissakoski

      So much laundry to fold I had no choice but to post. :) :)

      October 6, 2013 at 7:31 pm

  5. bfischer1964

    Very nice babe and I made the title too! Makes me feel very special to be a part of your life and to venture into the woods with you. One questionable dune butt photo, but the others are as beautiful as you are. I love you

    October 6, 2013 at 7:14 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks babe! xoxoxo

      October 7, 2013 at 6:28 am

  6. jc leslie

    Gorgeous photos…thanks for sharing! Hugs,Jeannine

    Sent from my iPad

    October 6, 2013 at 9:42 pm

  7. Hmm you study your pictures I like that, but doses brad know his booty was blogged? :):).

    Love your pics lady, aside from brad that is :)

    October 6, 2013 at 9:58 pm

  8. Wonderful!

    October 6, 2013 at 11:32 pm

  9. Did you change something in wordpress? It appears that EVERY post before this one has images that do not display. No more looking at old posts? :-)

    October 7, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    • melissakoski

      Oh no. I needed more photo space and tested a few deletes to ensure they would still appear in the post. Looks like that wasn’t a true test. Thanks for the heads up!

      October 7, 2013 at 9:21 pm

      • Good luck on the recovery effort! :-)

        October 7, 2013 at 9:32 pm

  10. Helen

    Hey Melissa – beautiful post, have missed seeing you, & whatever’s going on in your life, I’m happy you’re back & hope you are well!

    October 8, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Helen! I was keeping a watchful eye out for you at artprize! And don’t tell the HIPA regulators, but Jerrylynn A. is a favorite pt. of mine. (:

      October 9, 2013 at 5:49 pm

      • Helen

        Ah ha! I would have loved running into you, and I love Jerrylynn too – small, wonderful world :-)

        October 9, 2013 at 6:14 pm

  11. Are those Japanese beetles doing what I think they are doing?

    October 8, 2013 at 10:42 pm

    • melissakoski

      They sure are!!

      October 9, 2013 at 5:48 pm

thoughts?

