Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Last March was perfect (more than amazing)

Last March started out cold.

Last March started out cold.

The bluebirds fought over food.

The bluebirds fought over food.

And then the light changed...

And then the light changed…

IMG_9578

I saw bald eagles on my way out to the woods.

I saw bald eagles on my way out to the woods.

IMG_1079

IMG_1055

..and  turkey feathers.

and turkey feathers…

..and feathers on turkeys....

and feathers on turkeys….

..and turtles....

and turtles laying eggs….

...and snakes

..and snakes.

and many pregnant deer.

and many pregnant deer.

The birds....

The birds and the bees arrived early.

IMG_3905

and the bees arrived early.

IMG_3450

And I thought it was a good idea to set my Christmas tree on fire.

IMG_3058

As it turns out it wasn’t a good idea to set my Christmas tree on fire. The tree rolled right off the fire pit and toward the dry wooden shed.

Here are the Christmas trees I stuck in the ground in a safer not- on- fire mode next to the shed.

Here are the Christmas trees I stuck in the ground safely not-on-fire next to the shed.

We were saved from ourselves by an unusual March thunderstorm.

But we were saved from ourselves by an unusual and beautiful March thunderstorm.

IMG_3062

IMG_2695

Last March was perfect for me.

Last March was perfect for me and for none of the reasons above.

27 responses

  1. wow.

    March 13, 2013 at 7:23 pm

  2. melissakoski

    Thinking of you often and hope your trip is going well! xo

    March 13, 2013 at 7:25 pm

  3. So, what you’re saying is… :D
    Love the photos.

    March 13, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    • melissakoski

      That I’m fresh outta words these long workin’ days! (:

      March 13, 2013 at 7:48 pm

  4. That shot of the bluebirds belongs on a calendar. Or a motivatinal poster.

    March 13, 2013 at 7:47 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Jomegat. Any sign of spring in your neck of the woods?

      March 25, 2013 at 5:40 pm

  5. Some great shots and an interesting read :)

    March 13, 2013 at 8:02 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thank you. It seemed there was something amazing happening every moment of last March!

      March 25, 2013 at 5:40 pm

  6. Amazing photos – I love the turtle!

    March 13, 2013 at 10:05 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Jules. I hope you and the family and critters are doing well!

      March 25, 2013 at 5:41 pm

  7. louisva

    Great photos but be careful with fire. It’s always good to hear from you, Lisa. When I see a new post from “Melissa not dusting,” my first reaction is a smile. I know it is hard to keep up when you are working a regular job but even just a few pictures is fine with me. Thanks for the smile my friend!

    March 14, 2013 at 10:40 am

    • melissakoski

      You’re welcome my dear friend (: It is SO hard to find time and energy to take photos and post them these days!

      March 25, 2013 at 5:41 pm

      • louisva

        We had an unexpected snow last week. Two whole inches and it starts a natural disaster with school closings, etc.

        March 26, 2013 at 12:50 pm

  8. Fantastic photos and nice way of telling the story with images :)

    March 15, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Bashar. Hope you’re doing well…jealous of the warmer weather you’re probably enjoying. Still snowing here….. ugh!

      March 25, 2013 at 5:42 pm

  9. Setting the Christmas tree on fire may not have been wise, but I bet it was fun – at least until you worried about burning up the entire county.

    March 17, 2013 at 9:48 am

    • melissakoski

      It was SO fun! The roar of the needles burning was loud and exciting!

      March 25, 2013 at 5:42 pm

  10. Hey, Melissa, I have missed you. I had to change my e-mail address when I got hacked, and forgot to put it on my wordpress subscriptions. So I had to re-subscribe. Lovely photos, dear one, a nice eclectic collection. :-)

    March 19, 2013 at 5:04 pm

    • Good to see you posting, Bob. I thought you had fallen of of the face of the earth!

      March 20, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    • melissakoski

      Hey Bob- always great to hear from you. It’s been super hard to keep up on this fun portion of my life lately! Miss getting to slowly read everyone’s blogs like the old days (: Hope you’re feeling good and getting out lots!

      March 25, 2013 at 5:44 pm

  11. The photo of the bluebirds at the feeder is SOMETHING! I am fond of the fisherman too. I am giving some thought to reblogging this post. Thanks for doing the work of taking and putting up these photos.

    March 19, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thank you much! The bluebirds were especially fun to watch… I watched them form the time they hatched in the yard and many months following. The young ones are pictured in this blog and quite fiesty!

      March 25, 2013 at 5:45 pm

      • That you watched them come to life must make it all the more satisfying that you were able to capture such a great shot. Come to think of it, I don’t think I have ever seen an EASTERN Bluebird before in the wild,. and probably never paid attention to them in the field guides etc.. They have an interesting color combination. Anyway.. I enjoy your blog. And now I notice you have twitter too. :-)

        March 25, 2013 at 9:22 pm

  12. Much smiling as I read this, Melissa, particularly at the last line. I hope this March is treating you well, too.

    March 24, 2013 at 9:40 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Sid. Always a pleasure ot hear from you! Your comment made me smile- thank you… much appreciated this trying March. (:

      March 25, 2013 at 5:46 pm

  13. louisva

    BTW, the forecast for the end of the week is back to the 60 degree type weather!

    March 26, 2013 at 12:43 pm

  14. Wow Melissa, you are awesome. What a great eye you have and a great appreciation of nature :) I love your work :)

    June 5, 2013 at 5:49 pm

thoughts?

