Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

My bff on top of L.L.

The barn. Heading out to a basketball game in a snow storm....but no one that lives in northern Michigan would call getting 10 inches of snow in a few hours a storm.

The barn. Heading out to a basketball game in a snow storm….but no one that lives in northern Michigan would call getting 10 inches of snow in a few hours a storm.

It's easy to forget the sky is blue during the winter.

It’s easy to forget the sky is blue during the winter.

Skeba Farm

Skeba Farm

I took a run through the woods and up to the orchard. The knee-high snow wasn't difficult to maneuver, but I kept falling through the crusty layer separating the top foot of snow from the bottom six. It was definitely my slowest and most difficult run ever.

I took a run through the woods and up to the orchard. The crusty layer made it slow and the most difficult run ever. Like my finicky picky eater children say, “Crust KILLS!”.

Jodi's back yard.

Jodi’s back yard.

photo

photo

Bluff close-ups... so many acres of untouched snow.

Bluff close-ups… so many acres of untouched snow.

My tracks on the bluff. The snow builds up along the edge... I ran over the bluff hoping to avalanche myself down the huge hill, but the snow held. I was disappointed. I was hoping for the adventure of the fall and an easy way to the bottom of the trail.

My tracks on the bluff. The snow builds up along the edge… I ran over the bluff hoping to avalanche myself down the huge hill, but the snow held. I was disappointed. I was hoping for the adventure of the fall and an easy way to the bottom of the trail.

Over-looking Jodi's yard and the lake... The lake is the swath of white beyond the long narrow stand of pine trees.

Over-looking Jodi’s yard and the lake… It’s the swath of white beyond the pine trees.

The sticky bug card is still hanging in the orchard.

The sticky bug card is still hanging in the orchard.

We had lots of time for fun and jackassery, a specialty of my friend and I.

We had lots of time for fun and jackassery, a specialty of my friend and I.

photo

My bff on top of Lake Leelanau. ("My bff on top of L.L."  sounds provocative and I like it.)

My bff on top of Lake Leelanau. (“My bff on top of L.L.” sounds provocative and I like it.)

We went into town for a festival. Most of the bike racks downtown were full despite the ten inches of fresh snow.

We went into town for a festival. Most of the bike racks downtown were in use despite the ten inches of fresh snow. Bikers don’t mess around in Michigan.

Bench-high snow.

Bench-high snow. Bikes on both sides of the street.

I spotted this cat in a fox hat. Jodi and I ran him down and asked to get a picture with him. He nonchalantly said "Sure, just a minute" while shrugging before picking up his dog. He was taking her to the car to warm up. He was booking down the sidewalk to get her out of the cold.

I spotted this cat in a fox hat. Jodi and I ran him down and asked to get a picture with him. He nonchalantly said “Sure, just a minute” while picking up his dog. He was taking her to the car to warm up. He was booking down the sidewalk to get her out of the cold.

Carting a kid in a sled. Strollers are useless at this festival.

Carting a kid in a sled. Strollers are useless at this festival.

I was too busy having fun to take out my big camera and I stuck to using my phone for pictures.

20 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Waterproof running shoes….that is my thought. Great job as always of capturing the essence of life.

    February 19, 2013 at 6:53 am

    • melissakoski

      It was 3ยบ…. too cold for my feet to get wet. hahaha I love you!

      February 19, 2013 at 7:09 pm

  2. I feel as if I’ve just had an adventure

    February 19, 2013 at 7:46 am

    • melissakoski

      You deserve the escape Jules!

      February 19, 2013 at 7:09 pm

  3. Helen

    Lovely set of photos!

    February 19, 2013 at 9:00 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you so much Helen!

      February 19, 2013 at 7:14 pm

  4. louisva

    Great pictures, Lisa. It takes me back to childhood and the three years spent living in Anchorage, Alaska.

    February 19, 2013 at 11:57 am

    • melissakoski

      It sure was cold and snowy!

      February 19, 2013 at 7:15 pm

  5. louisva

    Lisa, what town is that in the last couple of photos?

    February 19, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    • melissakoski

      Louis those were taken in Traverse City Michigan, famous for Michael Moore and cherries. (:

      February 19, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    • louisva

      Wow, the western side of Michigan gets some bad lake-effect snows.

      February 20, 2013 at 11:48 am

      • melissakoski

        “Bad” Louis? was what I was going to say a few days ago, but now I agree with using “bad”. IT WON’T STOP SNOWING! Everyday the meteorologist say things like “just 4 inches of snow today” or “chance of snow every day the rest of the month” and I’m dying to see the sun!

        February 23, 2013 at 9:05 pm

  6. Homesick!!!!! Great shots of my favorite place on earth. Yes, on EARTH!!

    February 19, 2013 at 3:32 pm

    • melissakoski

      Lisa that is so nice to read. Many are getting weary of the dark days though! My cousin who had never been to Michigan mentioned she had no idea Michigan held any beauty before now. Can you imagine? Probably just exposed to run down images of Detroit….

      February 19, 2013 at 7:17 pm

  7. Anonymous

    Great photos. Refreshing to read about you embracing winter. Sick of hearing people boo hoo about it. Thank you for a positive perspective.

    February 19, 2013 at 7:14 pm

  8. louisva

    I also had no idea how beautiful the rural scenery is in Michigan until I started seeing your photos.

    February 20, 2013 at 11:51 am

    • melissakoski

      (: I’m glad Louis.

      February 23, 2013 at 9:07 pm

  9. How lovely winter / snow photos. It was very refreshing to see them. Thank You.

    February 22, 2013 at 8:20 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks! I am looking forward to spring though.

      February 23, 2013 at 9:08 pm

  10. Your images again brought back memories. You have always been one of my favorite people. Thanks for visiting my blog again. I hope all is good for you. :-)

    February 24, 2013 at 9:48 pm

thoughts?

