Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Almost abducted, but luckily it was just a dude killing with crowbar.

May is my favorite month for many reasons.

The fawn wading through the tall grass spots you.

If you sit still on a windy day in May, you’ll likely spot a fawn wading through the tall grass.

The fawn veers my way.

They usually wander your way.

What am I?… and wonder what you are.

Answer: nothing scary

At this point I always get a little nervous and a lot excited about a wild animal running my way. Kind of like a strange dog running at you, but without the possibility of being bitten…or anything harmful for that matter… and it’d be a pretty small dog with a dainty build.

Then it comes at you like the family pet. It’s still coming this way.

One last picture before enjoying touching the wild.

One last picture before enjoying touching the wild.

I forgot a death in my last post. Last fall after hearing a thud we went outside to investigate and this is what we found.
IMG_2877 How could this turkey NOT see our house? Was it a daydreamer and staring into space as it flew through the air?

Speaking of death, I thought I was possibly going to die last week. I was out running before work.
(Mom, please stop reading now. I’ll tell you this story later…like in 30 years)

It was still a little dark so I stayed out of the woods and on the paved path…ya know…to be safe.

Not far into my run a junky truck slooooowly crept past. At the top of the hill the truck turned into a driveway and parked there for a minute.

I turned around heading back to my car in case the truck was plotting a possible abduction. My plan to dress in camouflage and be invisible to traffic may have failed. The truck turned back down the hill past me again very sloooowly.

At the base of the hill the truck did a U-turn and turned back around heading my way once again. I stopped, dropped a pin in my GPS coordinates, punched in 911 on my keypad ready to call and got my pepper spray situated. The truck pulled along side the side of the road about 50 feet in front of me. I thought, “Oh shit, there’s two dudes in the truck… I wanted to use this pepper spray on a bear not like this….would have been way cooler…and how much pepper spray is in these things anyway? Damn it, a shitty end of the year and now THIS?”

I had to pass the truck to get to my car. I waited for another car to come down the road (ya know for witnesses…) before running as fast as I could past the truck. A man got out of the truck and circled around the back of the truck. A short foot bridge railing separated me from the men and the truck.

As I tore across the bridge, closer to the man, I was stopped by the sight of him leaning over a deer that was sitting along the side of the road.
I heard myself ask, “Oh a deer. So that’s why you stopped?”
The man silently raised his arm over his head and slammed a crowbar into the deer’s skull in response to my question. Crowbar to skull makes a loud cracking sound.

I ran like hell back to my car a half mile down the path beating my HIGH SCHOOL half mile record by a LONG shot in that run.

Even though I logically knew the guys had hit the deer, saw it wasn’t dead and were coming back to do the nice thing and put the doe out of her misery, I was still a little fearful the skull cracking guy may have gotten a taste for death during his crow bar swinging and my skull may be next.

So now I take my morning jog inside my garage and it it totally lame in comparison. But no more running out in the dark, I promise.

23 responses

  1. louisva

    Woah! My heart is beating fast just thinking about this incident. Please, be careful out there. Lotsa nuts these days.

    January 14, 2013 at 10:41 am

    • melissakoski

      Here’s my thoughts Louie Lou… I think I’d have been SAFER in the woods rather than along the woods where cars could see my (sort of see me- I was in camo lol) I have time to be wise, but no time for fear! (:

      January 14, 2013 at 2:15 pm

  2. wow with that mind, who needs to read suspense?!?

    January 14, 2013 at 10:52 am

    • ps. the deer is so beautiful! did you touch it?!?

      January 14, 2013 at 10:53 am

      • melissakoski

        Thanks Elisa. I did touch it in that I held my hand out and felt its wet nose before it took off. So cool (:

        January 14, 2013 at 2:16 pm

  3. You need to invest in a treadmill with the screen that allows you to run through the mountains or in Central Park. Louisva and I are too old for this type of excitement!!

    January 14, 2013 at 10:57 am

    • melissakoski

      Mom you weren’t supposed to read that last bit. (: I felt a little too old myself… ’til I smashed my track record! hahaha

      January 14, 2013 at 2:12 pm

  4. louisva

    You nailed it, forgetmenotmvp! I am definitely old and a wuss as well, LOL!

    January 14, 2013 at 11:32 am

  5. Sounds like you handled the situation ably. But still.

    January 14, 2013 at 11:48 am

    • melissakoski

      Realistically it could happen any time of day anywhere ya know? Glad no one was really after me though.

      January 14, 2013 at 2:18 pm

  6. I love your stories… and I know I shouldn’t laugh. I’d have been right there with you, mace and all. Backwoods scary people are scary! Glad you were running… could have been worse if you were just an overweight or unathletic, stranded gal in the middle of nowhere.

    January 14, 2013 at 1:08 pm

    • melissakoski

      Bethanne I’m still laughing about it all… at myself, the weird truck guys, me returning to the scene afterwards. Real life is SO entertaining. Just this past week I also fell right on a man in the woods and also got ?ed about trespassing. Someone didn’t like me tearing through their huge yard. (I was chasing a ruffed grouse for gosh sakes) I could understand calling the cops had I been in my camo gear, but I was in bright pink running clothes-so lame.

      January 14, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    • louisva

      Especially if I heard banjo music. I’d be a track star in no time!

      January 14, 2013 at 2:42 pm

  7. louisva

    I did not know this little tid-bit until recently but I am color blind and certain types (my type)of color blindness causes me to see jungle camo as if it were bright red. Not the same with desert camo but they used to use folks with my type in WWII to spot camoflage on the ground. I knew you would just love to know that useless trivia, LOL!

    January 14, 2013 at 2:34 pm

  8. Beautiful photos of the fawn! Please give the turkey my condolences.

    January 14, 2013 at 6:38 pm

    • melissakoski

      This made me laugh (:

      January 29, 2013 at 7:37 pm

  9. Hell!

    January 14, 2013 at 8:17 pm

  10. Forgot to say how gorgeous the photos are of Bambi!

    January 14, 2013 at 8:18 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Julie!

      January 29, 2013 at 7:37 pm

  11. louisva

    As to the turkey – did U hear it hit? That is really odd. I’ve had a few small birds see their reflection (I assume) in a large amount of glass on the front of my house and once had a crow hit but a Turkey? I rarely see the clumsy looking things fly with the exception of spazzing up to a tree top.

    January 15, 2013 at 10:05 am

    • melissakoski

      I know right Louis? Yes I did hear it hot the house. I’ve only seen them fly up to roost and to clumsily get away from a dog or myself tryign to creep up on them. A mystery of the universe I guess. (:

      January 29, 2013 at 7:38 pm

  12. You kept me on the edge of my seat… great story telling :)
    Love the photos… and yes please be safe

    January 15, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    • melissakoski

      I’ve taken your advise Bashar and have only been running in the daylight hours. So far so good!

      January 29, 2013 at 7:39 pm

thoughts?

