Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

The Six Most Impressive Deaths of 2012

If you have a weak stomach stop reading this now.

I saw a zillion amazing animals in the 2012 year. Some of them were dead. Here are my favorites…

CUTEST DEATH

"Mom look how cute this little guy is. Will you peel him up for me so I can freak Krystal out?"

“Mom look how cute this little guy is. Will you peel him up for me so I can freak Krystal out?”

adorable

adorable

"I'll give one last ride, freak Krystal out and then set you in the garden."

“I’ll give ya one last ride, freak Krystal out and then set you in the garden.”

SADDEST DEATH

A young groundhog with a parasitic brain-eating worm. This one was half the size of its siblings and circled around in odd little

A young groundhog with a parasitic brain-eating worm. This one was half the size of its siblings and circled around in odd little circles before dying. The mother tried to corral the brain-fried little one back into the burrow for hours the first few days before giving up on her pup.

MOST BEAUTIFUL DEATH

The second clutch of bluebird eggs were over due to hatch. Temperatures soared above 104ºF/40ºC for a few weeks.

The second clutch of bluebird eggs were over due to hatch. Temperatures soared above 104ºF/40ºC for a few weeks. The eggs looked a little cooked on the bottom

I took an egg out of the nest and cracked it open to make sure the clutch wasn't viable. I surmise the clutch overheated early. I took an egg out of the nest and cracked it open to make sure the clutch wasn't viable. I surmise the clutch overheated early.

MOST EXCITING DEATH *gory warning

Just bought a snake field guide, saw this blue racer as my first ever sighting and didn't feel comfortable posting this treasure. It would have been much more amazing to see this blue racer dart across the road.

I just bought a snake field guide and then saw this blue racer- the first one I’d ever spotted! I was excited, but didn’t feel comfortable posting this treasure due to the gore. It would have been much more amazing to see this blue racer dart across the road, but that’s not how it happened.

GROSSEST DEATH AND KIND OF LIKE A DREAM I ALWAYS HAD WHEN I WAS A KID

I was running down a trail and glanced down at a flash of a line of ants going into a mouse eye. Pretty gross. I was thankful the mouse was  too small to stink like death.

I glanced down at the trail and got a flash of what looked like a line of ants going into a mouse eye. Pretty gross. It WAS a line of ants going into a mouse eye….and ear. I was thankful the mouse was too small to stink like death.

MOST LOGICAL DEATH

Farm style fly tape. "You've got to know what's around your crop."

Farm style fly tape. “You’ve got to know what’s around your crop.” This makes sense.

12 responses

  1. “I think I’m gonna hurl, Wayne.”

    December 31, 2012 at 7:53 am

    • melissakoski

      You were my greatest concern in posting this dear one!! (:

      December 31, 2012 at 7:55 am

  2. louisva

    I love your twisted sense of humor, Lisa. I have that trait myself !

    December 31, 2012 at 11:46 am

    • melissakoski

      Cheers to you my Louie Lou!

      January 4, 2013 at 6:04 pm

  3. As long as I am not on that list everything is fine.

    December 31, 2012 at 12:21 pm

    • melissakoski

      You made it another year! (: Thanks again David for your generosity!!

      January 4, 2013 at 6:05 pm

  4. My kind of post. Half my girls will be upset; the other half fascinated. The mouse may make them all sad, though. No one will shed a tear for the snake.

    December 31, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    • melissakoski

      Similar situation with my girls…. one says “Mom you are so weird and gross” and the other asked, “Could you step on the snake and make more guts come out?”. She was disappointed I didn’t try stepping on the snake. Love your comment… my girls did too, laughing loudly at the snake part.

      January 4, 2013 at 6:08 pm

  5. Brilliant! Most people spend this time of year focused on everything else, but this introspection on death is marvelous. Well done! Way to stand out. I liked the eggs the best. What an allegory for the events of the past year.

    January 2, 2013 at 6:27 pm

  6. melissakoski

    Thanks so much for your kind words! I think the eggs made me the saddest really because I watch the nests so closely from the time they are built, as each egg is laid, when they hatch (usually) and then the nestlings fledge.

    January 4, 2013 at 6:11 pm

  7. If ever I needed a “like, but…” button to punch, this is the time. Beautiful creatures, all around, but so sad!

    January 5, 2013 at 9:44 pm

  8. melissakoski

    Sid, I was saddest about a critter death I didn’t post. A pair of Gray Catbirds used to bath and eat in my garden at the same time every day while I sat on the porch. Everything I read about them was that they’re skittish and mysterious b/c they hide from people. “Mine” didn’t mind people. I saw a dead catbird in the road by my house after a large storm….. it was the worst to see the one bird first hanging out by the corpse and then on its own in the garden for a few days.

    January 9, 2013 at 7:04 pm

thoughts?

