Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Christmas Eve’s Glory Hole

The days are short. There’s only time to run and carry the camera.

the best sort of holiday party lights

holiday lights

frozen tree sap

frozen tree sap

My dear friend Alisun breezed into town like a waft of intelligent air and taught me and our chums some glass blowing terminology. She also indicated I shouldn’t use wikipedia to help my kids with their homework. I’m just trying to figure out how you find the number of neutrons in an atom. I need a workshop Alisun.

just after solstice sunset

just after solstice sunset

lots of mud and icy puddles

temperatures way above freezing…lots of mud

moss

moss

the glow of sunset

the glow of sunset

maybe the moon will light the trail

maybe the moon will light the trail

18 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Very cool pics LJo. Is there a way you can start running earlier so you can get out before dark? It’s making me nervous…..

    December 24, 2012 at 7:21 am

    • melissakoski

      Ha (: I was hosting a holiday party until late afternoon so I went ASAP. I have a headlight now so no worries to your pretty head!

      December 24, 2012 at 7:24 am

    • Me too.

      December 24, 2012 at 8:52 am

  2. Beautiful!

    December 24, 2012 at 7:26 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Tori!

      December 25, 2012 at 9:43 pm

  3. Dad K

    Beautiful pictures. Merry Christmas may aal your dreams come true.

    December 24, 2012 at 8:24 am

    • melissakoski

      thanks!

      December 25, 2012 at 9:43 pm

  4. Did your mama never tell you “home before dark?” Merry Christmas, dahling young one.

    December 24, 2012 at 8:53 am

    • melissakoski

      see below….

      And a very Merry Christmas to you and yours dear brutha.

      December 25, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  5. Her mother did tell her that and she was grounded on many an occasion for – my ride was late, my watch broke, I lost track of time etc. etc. etc.

    December 24, 2012 at 9:04 am

    • melissakoski

      you can never underestimate making out in the woods. haha

      December 25, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    • Ha! I’m sure.

      December 26, 2012 at 4:20 pm

      • melissakoski

        for real (:
        Hey it just snowed about 4 inches in the last hour up here. Is it hot there? I tried to pretend I was in Mexico on vacation all day today. (:

        December 26, 2012 at 6:30 pm

  6. Fantastic! Happy Christmas Melissa.

    December 24, 2012 at 9:06 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Jules! To you, Ants, and Ming as well. xo

      December 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  7. louisva

    What can I say – your pics are always so good. Happy holidays, Lisa to you & the kiddos!

    December 24, 2012 at 3:35 pm

    • melissakoski

      ditto Louie!

      December 25, 2012 at 9:42 pm

  8. Great photos which each of them require long time to admire.

    Happy New Year 2013.

    December 31, 2012 at 1:49 am

thoughts?

