Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

How Things Look

My eldest daughter brought this fiery sunrise to my attention. It’s easier to take good photos when a fleet of people are keeping a look out for beauty and critters.

A frosty morning.

The cold sunrise was more yellow.

Squirrel in da house. (the greenhouse)

I’m sure I’d adamantly vote against spending township money on these warning signs during a spring meeting. By fall it becomes obvious I’d be running through the woods (in olive colored clothing) while people were bow hunting if it weren’t for these township warning signs.

I feel as if this sign may have saved me from being pierced with an arrow. I also wonder if an orange laminated sign nailed to a tree would have worked as effectively. It certainly wouldn’t look as classy.


20 responses

  1. your pictures are great! :-)

    November 27, 2012 at 6:08 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks!

      November 27, 2012 at 9:55 am

  2. Beautiful!

    November 27, 2012 at 7:35 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Tori (;

      November 27, 2012 at 9:55 am

  3. “Squirrel in da house.” LOL!

    November 27, 2012 at 7:46 am

    • melissakoski

      Sometimes it’s best not to fight ridiculous writing ya know Britt? (:

      November 27, 2012 at 9:56 am

  4. TheBlackTwig

    Love these sunrise photos. I wish I’m not lazy to get up and catch the sunrise here as well.

    November 27, 2012 at 8:09 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh Dahlia you’re probably the least lazy person I don’t really know! I’m sure you’re up most nights late writing and studying your booty off!! I only am up because I have to get the kids off to school.

      November 27, 2012 at 9:57 am

  5. louisva

    Excellent shots (what’s new)? I guess I was premature in telling you how much I was missing your posts!

    November 27, 2012 at 9:03 am

    • melissakoski

      Ha actually Louie Lou I posted this because of your note. (: Didn’t want you to worry your hippy haired head over me. Thanks for the push buddy.

      November 27, 2012 at 9:58 am

      • louisva

        Wow, I wish I had seen this earlier today. But alas, I had an eye doctor appt. this mornin’ over in town. Oh yeah . . . . . and over in town means a 40-45 mile round-trip into the Richmond suburbs closest to us, well duh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also, had some errands I could run, the have to “BE” in town kinda errands. Whoa, yes – – – what a terrible price to pay for being in the boonies (GRIN). If I did, in fact, play a role in you posting this – then never mind my last email, just hit delete, LOL. OK, I will swallow my pride and admit that I was worried about you and thanks for posting this and yes, it makes me feel better.

        November 27, 2012 at 3:11 pm

        • melissakoski

          Yes Louis… I got your email, didn’t want you to worry, checked my camera and found a round of photos I hadn’t yet posted. This weekend will be the first time in weeks I’ll have a minute to take photos, but sadly the forecast is set to be gloomy. I’m still looking forward to returning to the outdoors as you can well imagine. (:

          December 6, 2012 at 10:29 pm

  6. Stand on the other side of the sign to take your picture… :D Glad you haven’t been arrowed through. eeek.

    November 27, 2012 at 11:03 am

    • melissakoski

      Sometimes I’m so clueless and/or focused on other things I scare myself Bethanne. Mom and I were chatting over Thanksgiving how much we love your humor. (:

      December 6, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  7. I really like the silloheutte images

    November 27, 2012 at 11:40 am

    • melissakoski

      Me too Bashar. This was the daily view from my previous front yard… so beautiful every day in a different way!

      December 6, 2012 at 10:32 pm

  8. That sunset provided a great opportunity for silhouetting plant forms in front of it. You’re fortunate it was brought to your attention.

    November 27, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    • melissakoski

      Steve you are so right. I’ve gotten so many photos due to my kids yelling out things like, “Mom your groundhog is out” and “Mom, big deer in the yard”…. granted they sound annoyed, but I think it’s so sweet they know what makes their Mom happy and help me. (:

      December 6, 2012 at 10:35 pm

  9. Hey, long time no see. I’ve missed you. Haven’t heard from you, so I guess you have forgotten ole Bob.

    November 29, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    • melissakoski

      Hey Bob (: I’m just swamped. I’m excited to have a new job and everything, but am sorely missing the flexibility in my schedule! I’m missing out on a ton of the fun stuff right now as I transition, but will be back in full affect by the new year I imagine. Know that I miss you and think of you often. (:

      December 6, 2012 at 10:37 pm

thoughts?

