Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

caught in the dark

I was caught in the dark running in the woods the other day. I don’t have time for these shorter days.

I made it out of the woods despite the leaf-covered trail.

There were lots of noises as critters ran through dried leaves. I was a little scared I was going to accidentally startle a skunk and get sprayed and less afraid I was going to get stalked and eaten by a mountain lion. It was great to hear the stream since that meant I was close to the trailhead.

http://youtu.be/oW8pzkERLZ0

Here’s the same video essentially, but taken during the day.

http://youtu.be/UjSdEn7i_4U

The trail was difficult to follow in the dark…..

17 responses

  1. I love the delicious way you always capture nature. Your photos whisk me right out of the city!

    October 28, 2012 at 10:10 am

  2. melissakoski

    Thanks Britt! I love to whisk myself right out of the city- literally! Hope you’re well.

    October 28, 2012 at 10:13 am

  3. You and your photos are so unusual and refreshing!

    October 28, 2012 at 10:20 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Julie, those words came at the perfect time. Feeling BORING and BLAND.

      October 28, 2012 at 9:32 pm

      • You might be feeling that way but you are anything BUT boring and bland!

        October 28, 2012 at 9:44 pm

  4. Seriously, thought that first video was a joke! So dark! That’s a thriller novel just waiting to happen. :P Be more careful, for crying out loud. See that big ball of light? That’s the sun… watch for it.

    As usual, beautiful photos. You make me miss my midwest.

    October 28, 2012 at 10:56 am

    • melissakoski

      I kept all my thoughts logical and focused on the opposite of thriller novel ideas. (: I usually check the sunset time, but was in too much of a hurry to slow down and check. Total ass move, but luckily my phone has a flashlight.

      October 28, 2012 at 9:34 pm

  5. I love it- “I don’t have time for these shorter days!”

    October 28, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    • melissakoski

      Ack these short days are a pain- need more hours to play outdoors.

      October 28, 2012 at 9:35 pm

  6. louisva

    Nice pics as usual. The first two R my faves because they both look like the woods here in VA. The leaf surrounded by fungus is cool as well. I did not know U had your own “Youtube Station” of which I am now subscriber #2. Look out for those creepy night things as the days get shorter.

    October 28, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    • melissakoski

      (: Are you getting ready for snow Louie Lou? There were some teenagers that were “cornered” by a bear in this park this summer. How you get corned on a few hundred acres is still beyond me. I thought of them and laughed as I made my way out of the woods.

      October 28, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  7. Great fall and colorful pics, Melissa. Love ’em. :-)

    October 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks a million Bob! (:

      October 28, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  8. Anyone doubting that the world is full of beauty needs only to be shown your photos to be convinced – marvelous. As for running… at night? In the woods? Do you realize how many flesh-sucking, bloodthirsty, evil, three-headed, Klingon politician squid creatures there are in your part of the state? Be careful, Melissa.

    October 28, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Sid, you are very kind. I didn’t PURPOSELY set out to run at night. I just got out of work and thought I had just enough time to get a run in before the sun set. I was completely wrong.

      October 28, 2012 at 9:39 pm

  9. I really love the first 2 shots, they capture the season.
    On a side note, (I mean this in a professional way even though I’m not a professional :) )… your avatar?!?!?! Your eyes are mesmerizing… I would love to photograph you if you ever make it to San Diego :)

    October 29, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks for the kind words Bashar. I’ll look you up when I make it out to the west coast.

      October 30, 2012 at 11:05 pm

thoughts?

