Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Some seriously amazing sh*t!

seriously click to enlarge….way worth it.

ASTOUNDING AND IMPRESSIVE

Speaking of poop, an amazing number of people stumble onto my blog looking for information on turkey poop. (welcome to my blog) Michigan’s fall turkey hunt is almost here so if you successfully drew a license I can let you know where a large flock of turkeys hang out in the Cannonsburg State Game Area.

Sunlight through a hole eaten by a Monarch caterpillar in a milkweed leaf.
***Light and Joy and Peace Abide in Me***

A newly hatched Monarch caterpillar and the leaf of a burning bush. The last batch of monarchs will live longer than a few weeks and travel 1,000’s of miles to warm breeding grounds in Mexico. I found three little ones in the garden yesterday and so far only one is missing.

A Great Blue Heron peeking.

FLYING….Check out the talons and meaty thighs…probably tastes like pond muck though.

CHICKADEE

BLURRY HUMMINGBIRD

A mixed flock of Cedar Waxwings and House Finches fluttering and chattering.

16 responses

  1. Mmm, pond muck!

    August 20, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    • melissakoski

      Look at that gross pond water. Not my kind of marinade!

      August 20, 2012 at 4:10 pm

  2. Thoughts?? Heck, Melissa I don’t know what to think about you. You’re such a hoot! :-) I like that 2nd shot of the Heron fixin’ to land, I think. All are pretty decent shots, I like the chickadee, too. A fun series again. xo

    August 20, 2012 at 4:04 pm

    • melissakoski

      I’m still laughing at my peeing on the deer path remark on facebook…. It’s a wonder my children have friends with my sense of humor, or rather my habits. (:

      August 20, 2012 at 4:11 pm

      • Yeah, I remember that. My face was even red, LOL

        August 20, 2012 at 4:26 pm

        • melissakoski

          Just think of it in terms of saving a ton of water…..

          August 20, 2012 at 4:31 pm

          • Amen, to that. :-)

            August 20, 2012 at 4:40 pm

          • Amen, to that. :-) er…actually I’ll drink to that. :-)

            August 20, 2012 at 4:45 pm

          • Amen, to that. :-) er…actually I’ll drink to that. :-) er…..uh…maybe I won’t drink to that. LOL

            August 20, 2012 at 4:46 pm

  3. The first image is the money shot for me :) Love your descriptive title :p hahaha

    August 20, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    • melissakoski

      Ah Bashar you haven’t made a funny comment that could be misinterpreted in a while! Glad you liked the shot and title. I was amazed when I saw it and then laughed at myself for being amazed by bird poop. (:

      August 20, 2012 at 8:04 pm

  4. whatever happened to your one-legged chickadee anyway? and leave it to you to find a one legged bird.

    August 20, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    • melissakoski

      I actually got that shot your Highness Rev. Pee Paw (does Belize have a King?) because I was looking for my one-legged friend. The girls asked why I kept saying, “Crap it’s got two feet!” I haven’t seen my underdog in a few weeks, but am holding out hope since I haven’t been outdoors at home very much.
      It takes a champion of the underdog to know one oh fighter for all that is good and just. xo

      August 20, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  5. great shot of the sunlight through the hole!

    August 20, 2012 at 8:35 pm

  6. TheBlackTwig

    Sh*t! These are really amazing haha! I personally like how the hummingbird in one photo camouflages with its surroundings. Beautiful photos, as usual. :)

    August 20, 2012 at 11:57 pm

  7. louisva

    Leave it to Lisa – bird poop on a flower, lol. Good shots as usual. I espescially like the herons.

    August 21, 2012 at 8:43 am

thoughts?

