Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

I’m grateful I WASN’T arrested and WAS published.

One way I stay a drama-free Mama is to write a quick daily list of the things I’m grateful for. The other is running in the woods.

I usually hit the woods after morning coffee, which means by the time I get to the spot I illegally park to jump on the trail I have to pee.
(I use a very discreet deer path away from the trail and check my ass for deer ticks as routinely as I brush my teeth.)

Last week a police officer pulled up to my illegal parking spot as I jumped out of my car… on my way to pee.

Police Officer: (rolls down his window)Is everything okay Miss?
Me: Not really.
Police Officer: What seems to be the problem?
Me: The problem is that I have to pee super bad and I don’t want a ticket for indecent exposure….and your car is blocking my regular pee spot.
Police Officer: (Laughs and gives me a high five) Ha that’s funny. Well then, sorry to disturb you. Enjoy your day.
Me: Good thing we high fived before I peed huh?
Police Officer: You’re crazy. Have a good one.

I put thankful for not being arrested, ticketed or made to follow parking rules on my grateful list.

I had an even funnier exchange a few minutes later on the trail, but will save that story for another day. It did involve another person saying, “You’re crazy.” while laughing.

This week I received a book containing one of my photos. I was published in a real live book… with a cover and pages and everything! This was a great raft to cling to amidst a crap week. I put being published on my grateful list.

The monarch chrysalis is almost clear.

When I woke up the next morning the chrysalis was completely clear.

It broke free just after I took the pictures of the clear chrysalis and grabbed some coffee. Busy morning! (:

At this point I took off for a few hours and completely forgot about the Monarch and its emergence. It’s been a loooooong week and I’m a bit distracted. Eventually I found the butterfly and brought it outside.

My daughter snapped this. I’m glad the ones she took of me running around the house trying to nab the butterfly were too blurry to incriminate my absent-mindedness.

Some one should get on weeding that garden path.

That solar light is one of the last of twenty the young raccoons haven’t wrestled out of the ground and into the woods. Teenagers are mischievous even in the animal world.

Mischievous and cute.

Six wren eggs. I’ve never seen wren eggs. The twigs of the nest usually block the view of the eggs.

Gayfeather

Purple Coneflowers are a hit with a lot of critters. I love the light in this one.

THESE make a lot of……

THIS.

If anyone would like some perennials give me a shout out. I have more than enough to share.

Milkweed Beetle

Tree Frog. By now usually one has jumped on my skin when I’m outside at night, but I don’t have a close encounter to report yet.

Not sure what this is, but it loved the milkweed blossoms.

And that wraps up the last few days ’round here.

35 responses

  1. Helen

    Great story! :-) And fantastic photos!

    July 11, 2012 at 8:08 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you Helen!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:38 am

  2. Anonymous

    Very cool! I wonder if the cop were a lady if the circumstance would have been different?? :) I need perrennials, btw. come visit!

    July 11, 2012 at 8:10 am

    • melissakoski

      Is this Jodi? If yes then you’re all set. I would have just said “Yes Officer” if she asked if everything was okay. (:

      July 17, 2012 at 7:39 am

  3. Melissa, I think that you are as crazy as I am. What a pair we are. Hey, those pics of the Monarch in the cocoon are amazing. Great images, and that one of you is pretty darned nice, too. I love that story. Happy Wednesday. :-)

    July 11, 2012 at 8:24 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you so much Bob for your loving support!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:40 am

      • You’re welcome, Melissa. I wish I could give you more.

        July 17, 2012 at 10:30 am

        • melissakoski

          Bob, you’re a great mentor and fab friend…more than I could ask for! xo

          July 20, 2012 at 10:52 am

          • You are very special to me, too. xo

            July 21, 2012 at 10:19 pm

  4. Deb

    I just love your blog and the photos are really inspiring! I always seem to get an email update just when I need a good laugh or something awesome to look at and this one was no exception. I have now had a good laugh in the midst of a crappy morning (after a crappy night) and will start my list of things to be thankful for today. THANKS!

    July 11, 2012 at 9:07 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you Deb. Sometimes I’m end up putting things bothering me on my “grateful” list knowing what is happening is happening for a reason.

      July 17, 2012 at 7:41 am

  5. Shannon DeYoung

    Beautiful photos. Thanks for the laugh this morning. As I was reading your story, I could totally see you doing this. Have a great day.

    July 11, 2012 at 10:12 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Shannon. I crack myself up (: I probably even snorted on the trail replaying the scene in my mind. ha!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:42 am

  6. louisva

    It’s nice to hear about a policeman (or any one in authority) that uses common sense about a situation. One often encounters authority figures too often that have a “big head” and throw their power around.

    Your pix are so good, Lisa. They have such clarity and detail. You are a pro, Lisa. CONGRATS on being published too!

    July 11, 2012 at 10:21 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Louis! This officer was definitely just checking to see if I was stranded on a deserted dirt road rather than trying to prove anything to me. Hope you’re well!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:43 am

  7. So glad you were allowed to continue on your way….quickly! As usual, love your photos. Would you grant me permission to post the tree frog and the photo directly following it (the butterfly on the flower…not the close-up) on my Pinterest boards? Proper credit, of course, and your link on the photos.

    July 11, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    • melissakoski

      Of course, I don’t mind the pinning a bit! I was so relieved not to be in trouble…. I really am not the least bit confrontational!

      July 11, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      • Thank you!

        You sure gave me my chuckle for the day! I could just imagine how you felt….I’d have been more than a little uncomfortable (in all senses of the word) myself. ;o)

        July 11, 2012 at 4:08 pm

        • melissakoski

          I think I was in a very jovial mood that day!

          July 17, 2012 at 7:44 am

  8. What a great story :) and great pictures… which one got published? or its not in this series? or is at all of them :)

    July 11, 2012 at 2:18 pm

    • melissakoski

      The photo that was published was a picture of a woodpecker I took last summer. Thanks for your kind words and visit!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:45 am

  9. congrats on getting published and on maintaining sense of humor what you say is a trying week; wouldn’t know it from that peppy Melissa spirit.

    July 11, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Rev. Tropics. I’m refusing to give much credence to the negative (: (makes for some empty days..ha ha ha)

      July 17, 2012 at 7:46 am

  10. We have butterflies a bit like your last photo – low flying and small, with those gorgeous paintbrush antennae. Here they are called Skippers.

    July 11, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    • louisva

      Hi Sue,

      I looked up “skippers” in “google images” and there are many; none of which look alike so I am assuming that every region (country in your case) has a skipper. I just glanced at some of your pics on your blog and they are beautiful. I am making a note to come “visit” your blog someday.

      July 12, 2012 at 9:59 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh Sue I think you’re right. When I look at my field guide there are so many Skippers. I think I found the butterfly in the photo and then turn the page and it looks just as similar! (:
      Those antennae were so neat to see. I was glad it sat still on the flower for a long time so I could soak in the details!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:48 am

  11. Crazy and wonderful you!

    July 12, 2012 at 11:48 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Jules! I needed that (:

      July 17, 2012 at 7:48 am

      • You really shine – I look forward to your posts so much – thank you!

        July 17, 2012 at 9:09 am

        • melissakoski

          Julie, you couldn’t have given me a higher compliment.. Thank you!

          July 20, 2012 at 10:58 am

      • You really shine – I look forward to your posts so much – thank you!

        July 17, 2012 at 9:09 am

  12. Your pictures are lovely!

    July 12, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thank you so much! I hope your rescue porcupine is healing quickly!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:49 am

  13. Congratulations on being published! It’s not surprising, considering these excellent photos. The monarch picture progression is especially cool!

    July 14, 2012 at 10:43 am

    • melissakoski

      Mark thank you so much. I really appreciate your encouragement!!

      July 17, 2012 at 7:49 am

thoughts?

