Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

The young and ferocious…

I spy something….

Summer is full of monarch caterpillars. When I first brought this one inside, I set it on the kitchen counter and forgot about it for a bit…(I was gathering jars to use as homes.) Luckily the caterpillars aren’t speedy this late in their game. It’s busy creating a chrysalis underneath the striped skin.

a seat on a knee while dumping the thousands of pieces of (thankfully dry) fecal matter….

Two Monarch eggs on milkweed.

Last week I came across these two young raccoons eating bugs along the trail. An older guy was stopped on the far side of the raccoons.

First the older guy commanded the raccoons to “get off the path” and “move along now” as he explained that this “is just terrible, I’m going to be completely off schedule now, you must move!” I laughed thinking he was kidding around in his chat with the raccoons and the schedule bit, but then could see in his face he wasn’t.

I offered to “hold them back” if he wanted to quickly pass by the outside of the trail and keep his schedule. He didn’t even think THAT was funny, though he did quickly passed the beasts and myself.

Two young raccoons along the trail.

young….

Some one set up a funny scene. Summer breaks are great.
The yellow fish is a water pitcher turned on its side. There’s a monarch caterpillar in the jar.

Daisies

Yarrow

Stink bug. I’ve never smelled one, but then again I like the smell of skunk so I wouldn’t put much stock in that statement.

Elderberry and Salvia.

23 responses

  1. Love your blog. Interesting and educational.Love 2 all.Dad

    June 15, 2012 at 7:14 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Dad! Love you tons. (:

      June 18, 2012 at 7:50 am

  2. Awesome shots! It looks so fabulous! =)

    June 15, 2012 at 7:18 am

    • melissakoski

      It feels fabulous! (:

      June 18, 2012 at 7:51 am

  3. Anonymous

    I wonder if you went back at the same time everyday if the older gentlemen would be there…it could get interesting, setting roadblocks and all….

    June 15, 2012 at 7:27 am

    • melissakoski

      I thought about doing that actually until he mumbled, “They (the raccoons) are certainly not well-trained.” It really bothered me that “trained” meant afraid of him… kind of sad, though I think most people do think the same in regards to wild animals!

      June 18, 2012 at 7:53 am

  4. What a great and entertaining post, Melissa. I love the way you kept closing in on the fawn, getting closer each time. Amazing detail. I liked the funny story about the ‘older’ man. He sounds like a crochety old coot that doesn’t appreciate what is around him. Was it you that set up that funny photo with the water pitcher, etc.? It sounds like one of your mischievious deeds. :-)

    June 15, 2012 at 9:46 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Bob. I always love your encouragement. That guy is definitely some one we wouldn’t have a lot on common with!! xoxo

      June 18, 2012 at 7:54 am

      • Wow! I absolutely love that new profile photo of you!!. xoxoxo

        June 18, 2012 at 9:48 am

  5. Baby raccoons… they really are beasts :) Lovely shots as always!

    June 15, 2012 at 9:50 am

    • melissakoski

      Tori these were straight up gangster thug babies…scaaaaaary! (I should note in all this tough talk that I don’t watch much tv b/c it scares me…he he)

      June 18, 2012 at 7:56 am

  6. I’ve captured hundreds of stink bugs and never smelled one. Go figure.

    Always incredible pictures.

    June 15, 2012 at 10:27 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh thank you Scott. It’s a bright and busy time of year. I’m glad you too haven’t encountered a stink bug’s stink. I’m thinking it may be because we aren’t scary to critters and we don’t go around crushing them to test their smell. (:

      June 18, 2012 at 7:57 am

  7. I want that dear deer!

    June 15, 2012 at 11:05 am

    • melissakoski

      Jules, this deer would love you and follow you faithfully I’m sure. As always ,you’re in my loving thoughts. xo

      June 18, 2012 at 7:58 am

  8. TheBlackTwig

    Lovely photos, as always. And I like your new header :)

    June 15, 2012 at 11:31 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Dahlia! It’s always great to hear from you. (:

      June 18, 2012 at 7:59 am

  9. Love the photos, Melissa! I know I can always count on a series of spectacular wildlife stories and photos from you.

    June 15, 2012 at 11:56 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh Gracie, always so sweet! Thank you (:

      June 18, 2012 at 7:59 am

  10. Great photos Melissa, too many good ones to list… I don’t like racoons though so it kind of ruined the experience :) hahaha

    June 16, 2012 at 11:36 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Bashar! Did you have a negative run in with a raccoon? (: People get gun happy shooting them during June around here because suddenly they seem like unbearable nuisances, but really it’s just because the young ones are hungry and curious and moms are ravenous from feeding the little ones…. the excitement usually dies down by July. I’ve been enjoying your blog!

      June 18, 2012 at 8:03 am

  11. wonderful detail and closeups. wow.

    June 16, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks darling tropical brother! Happy belated father’s day…you’ve done well. (: xo

      June 18, 2012 at 8:03 am

thoughts?

