Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

it’s an egg and nipple time of year….

Male Eastern Box Turtles have red eyes, so when I saw this one in the morning hours, I figured it was probably a female…… A female remains fertile for four years after mating. She doesn’t have nipples.

And later that evening, when I saw she had been busy digging a nest for her eggs, I knew she was a female. Perhaps we’ll see the baby turtles when they hatch in 75-90 days.

Five Eastern Bluebird hatchlings

So fuzzy….

They hatched late Sunday.

They’re born hungry and stay hungry. Busy days ahead for the adult bluebirds while they feed the hatchlings.

A Song Sparrow nest. I’ve looked for a song sparrow’s nest for years and was thrilled to come across one yesterday morning while out looking for fawns…. quietly looking for fawns in the area bears regularly go for honey. I forgot that while I was quietly creeping through the area.

The Song Sparrow nest is on the ground and the eggs are light green with brown spots.

Baltimore Checkerspot

Baltimore Checkerspot larva.

Dorsal view of a Baltimore Checkerspot.

My guess is a Freija Fritillary…. it’s in the family of Brush-foots for sure. Science-y huh?

Um Ma’am, you’ve got something on your chest…….besides six nipples. (She’s stealing the suet)

Hot summer-like temps were the norm this past weekend. I weeded 10 perennial flower beds and covered them with 15 yards of mulch. Still rubbing the grime off <3

14 responses

  1. No wonder you don’t dust! What a beautiful post. The reference to nipples was funny (and now you will probably get a bunch of nipple spam – hehe!)

    May 22, 2012 at 7:10 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Julie. Still eagerly awaiting any nipple spam too. I’m shocked!

      May 25, 2012 at 9:40 am

  2. Anonymous

    Great pics Lisa! Thanks for sharing!

    May 22, 2012 at 7:17 am

  3. Melissa you have a really great collection of photos here. Not just that you have great photos, but that you have such great subjects so near to you. What fun that must be to be able go out and wander around and see and photograph such a diverse selection of birds and animals. Ya gotta love that ‘coon.

    May 22, 2012 at 7:40 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Bob. The diversity of life around here is amazing…. well plant and animal life that is. (: Happy Friday!

      May 25, 2012 at 9:39 am

  4. A life without nipples? I can’t imagine.

    May 22, 2012 at 8:33 am

    • melissakoski

      A sad physical state right Tori? I’d probably wear more tube tops though without worrying about nipple exposure.

      May 25, 2012 at 9:38 am

  5. louisva

    Another title that grabs one’s attention. How DO you find all this stuff to photograph? I don’t think I’d have the patience it must take (says an old goat)!

    May 22, 2012 at 9:44 am

    • melissakoski

      Hey Louie Lou, I have no patience…or very little. I just grab my camera when I head out to the bus stop, or have it handy while I’m gardening…always carrying the camera in my car. The longer I live here the easier it is to find treasure. Most times I fond something interesting in a few short minutes of looking. (:

      May 25, 2012 at 9:37 am

  6. Love your title, Melissa! Gave ma a chuckle. And I am amazed (and admittedly jealous) at how much fun you are having photographing all these wonderful life around you. Thank you so much for sharing.

    May 22, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks so much Gracie for your kind words. I definitely love living where I live!

      May 25, 2012 at 9:36 am

  7. My Dad has been doing battle with one or more raccoons over the suet feeder. I think he’s won the latest round.

    May 24, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    • melissakoski

      Jomegat I’ve been putting less food out so that its gone by evening most night now…. there were still two snarling on the deck last night as I wrote my last post fighting over an orange. I kept yelling, “Hey I am here!” and moving a chair around to keep them at a distance.

      May 25, 2012 at 9:35 am

  8. louisva

    OK, you asked!
    This is NIPPLE SPAM!

    May 25, 2012 at 11:46 am

thoughts?

