Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

You look like sh*t!

Swamp Milkweed Leaf Beetle

When I look out the kitchen windows I see this field of wildflowers. Last night while making dinner I noticed this field was full of butterflies.  I grabbed my camera and abandoned dinner preparations. 
wild phlox field

Many butterflies look like bird poop in their larva stage. Bird droppings are a clever disguise unless you run into a weird bird with some funky eating habits……

Silver-spotted Skipper

Spicebush Swallowtail

Canadian Tiger Swallowtail

When I came back indoors to finish getting dinner ready nothing had burned while I ran out the doors while “cooking”…. one of the big reasons why I cook how I cook.  (:

16 responses

  1. doliphoto

    wow, beautiful Butterfly photos

    May 18, 2012 at 8:20 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you. They look so beautiful flying around feeding together!

      May 18, 2012 at 8:21 am

      • doliphoto

        A symbol of togetherness is beautiful

        May 18, 2012 at 8:30 am

  2. So lovely photos, all of them. I love especially those butterfly photos. I think that 3 last butterfly photos show a butterfly which I have seen in or flower garden.

    May 18, 2012 at 8:58 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you! I like the thought of us seeing the same type of critters even though we’re in different parts of the world.

      May 19, 2012 at 9:38 am

  3. These are wonderful. Love that shot of the Canadian tiger swallowtail, strikingly beautiful. Definitely my favorite from this series.

    May 18, 2012 at 8:58 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Gracie. That CTSwallowtail would rest for long periods while drinking nectar so it was easy to work with!

      May 19, 2012 at 9:39 am

  4. Great close-ups again, Melissa. Hey, you’re getting pretty good at this. :-)

    May 18, 2012 at 9:56 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Love!! (: Better than I am at domestic duties certainly!

      May 19, 2012 at 9:39 am

  5. what do you know–that’s how i cook!

    May 18, 2012 at 10:10 am

    • melissakoski

      I figured Rev.!

      May 19, 2012 at 9:40 am

  6. excellent images, Melissa. :)

    May 18, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Mike. Are you enjoying warmer temperatures? The flowers are blooming quickly around here.

      May 19, 2012 at 9:41 am

  7. Amazing butterflies!

    May 19, 2012 at 3:54 pm

  8. You did a nice job with the swallowtails. The way they flutter can make picture-taking difficult.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    May 20, 2012 at 11:45 am

  9. elmediat

    Beautiful photo-essay sequence. Excellent compositions. Nothing to poo-poo here. :D

    May 25, 2012 at 9:53 pm

thoughts?

