Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

my gardening friend’s name is Rose…

I went on a great hike with some friends yesterday. When Rose is around its pretty much like having a walking field guide right there with you… I probably said “what’s this?” 100 times.

Spicebush Swallowtail

Pink Lady’s Slipper, one of the largest orchids in Michigan.

Conopholis americana… a perennial that nourishes itself parasitically on oak tree roots.

A tree frog perfectly tucked.

giggle giggle

Wild Geranium

bees on the (uncaged) peonies


21 responses

  1. Fantastic pictures, I really enjoyed sharing your wildlife.

    May 15, 2012 at 7:23 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks so much!

      May 16, 2012 at 6:43 am

  2. This is the sublime method of shooting in the wild, in the garden and in nature. To celebrate rather than to destroy. To immortalise rather than to kill. To capture without enslaving. Beautiful shots. Thanks so much

    May 15, 2012 at 7:32 am

    • A large amen to this reply.

      May 15, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    • melissakoski

      I love your words. Thanks for sharing your beautiful thoughts.

      May 16, 2012 at 6:43 am

  3. You sure have some neat, unique photos here. I like that tree fog. I’ve never seen one before, at least not like that. Happy Tuesday. :-)

    May 15, 2012 at 8:39 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Bob (: I usually see the frogs on my windows at home. Happy day!

      May 16, 2012 at 6:43 am

  4. louisva

    Nice work, Lisa. Do you know the name of the butterfly/moth in pics 7 & 8?

    May 15, 2012 at 10:10 am

    • Your new avatar pic is a keeper, louie louie. Looking good. Did you wash up and go to town saturday night or something?

      May 15, 2012 at 11:41 am

      • louisva

        Howdy Paul,

        Yep! I clicked on the pic and it does have the look of the “Psychology Today” issue with the cover man being the stereotypical “OLDER HUNK type sensitive guy” – a man who is not afraid of HIS feminine side nor is he, or ever WAS, afraid of an intelligent woman. I am actually ATTRACTED to intelligent women (Kristen). WOMEN oh women, that’s right, we were speaking of the gravatar with the “OLDER HUNK type sensitive man” showing his affection to a his devoted OLD cat, and although the bright sun makes his long, a little less dense hair (neatly pulled back) shine white; in reality, the overall effect is still brown hair when indoors and out of bright light – REALLY! A few white accents yeah, but. . . .

        And Paul – I just had my Saturday night bath a couple a days ago.

        May 15, 2012 at 3:03 pm

      • Louie Louie,
        let me just say: you really are looking good, even if you aren’t exactly the picture of a “hunka hunka burning love” at your age. Snap out of that self delusion man! like your comments about the peace thing too. you do look at peace. knowing all you’ve been through i’m really happy for you, louie.
        Praise God and Elvis and pass the gravy!.

        May 15, 2012 at 5:03 pm

      • louisva

        Dude, you were born 1950.
        I was born in 1950.
        Any more comments old dude?

        May 15, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      • Don’t hate me just because I’m beautiful.

        May 15, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      • melissakoski

        I agree Louie- looking good!!

        May 16, 2012 at 6:42 am

      • melissakoski

        p.s. my darling old stags… TODAY is my birthday and I am almost a quarter century younger than both of you. (: Loves to you both.

        May 16, 2012 at 6:46 am

    • melissakoski

      Louie I drove myself a little batty trying to figure it out… I have it narrowed down to three. I think its in the skipper family, but now that I’m not by my field guide I’m not sure. (:

      May 16, 2012 at 6:28 am

      • thanks for reminding us we’re a couple of broken down old geezers, fine young babe. sent you birthday wishes on FB. Breaking some big news about my future and plan for a radical life change involving Belize (it’s no Navasota, Texas but a pretty place at that) at the blawg soon but very busy planning that future at present. Also pumped about seeing Dave Matthews with the McKay girls Saturday night. Life ain’t so bad after all.

        May 16, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  5. Very pretty stuff.

    May 15, 2012 at 11:38 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks dear brother!

      May 16, 2012 at 6:25 am

  6. Great stuff! Love that photo of the raccoon standing on its two hind legs!

    May 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Gracie! I see it stand like that most evenings sniffing the air. (:

      May 16, 2012 at 6:25 am

thoughts?

