Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

The only reason I run is to hear heavy breathing again….

“The only reason I would take up jogging is to hear heavy breathing again.” – Erma Bombeck

Another gem from Erma. I just do it to clear the brain clutter, despite my penchant for heavy breathing.

It’s good to enjoy the solitude, all the fresh smells and the taste of spider webs and bugs in the woods.

this stretch smells and sounds heavenly

trillium


It’s illegal to pick trillium in Michigan. If you pick this flower the leaves can’t store food for the next few years. You’re basically screwing the plant its ability to function and reproduce for years to come.

Red tailed hawks. They’re definitely lovers. In Hollywood productions, whenever a hawk or eagle appears onscreen, no matter what species, the shrill cry on the soundtrack is almost always a Red-tailed Hawk.

A House Wren dancing and singing.

First day back…..

A male Baltimore Oriole.

A female Baltimore Oriole. There’s a string wrapped around her right leg.

Happy weekend. Fill it with lots of love.

19 responses

  1. Great photos again, Melissa. I like the way you have them vignetted. Love for your weekend, too. :-)

    May 4, 2012 at 7:51 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks love! (: Hey Bob could you see my blog from facebook? I’m headed up north to mushroom hunt. Woo hoo!

      May 4, 2012 at 8:03 am

      • Now I am jealous. Morel mushrooms makes my mouth water. I used to have a blast hunting for them. I can see your post on FB. Would you prefer that I comment there or here? Your wish is my command, dearest. :-)

        May 4, 2012 at 10:17 am

        • melissakoski

          No preference Bobarino (: I just couldnt tell if I posted it successfully. Thanks for the help!

          May 4, 2012 at 11:10 am

          • Okay, just as long as you get to read them all. Ship me some of those mushrooms. :-)

            May 4, 2012 at 11:58 am

    • louisva

      Hi Bob,

      I cannot see the word “vignette” without laughing. I took a course in literature at a small community college just for fun back in the 80s and the “so-called English teacher” pronounced the word “vij-net.”

      May 4, 2012 at 12:05 pm

  2. These photos are exhilarating!

    May 4, 2012 at 9:26 am

    • melissakoski

      It feelS exhilarating to run through the area. (: So fresh!

      May 4, 2012 at 11:14 am

  3. Anonymous

    A very contemplative side of crazy Melissa not dusting revealed here in these pix and musings. great stuff. Have a large time this weekend, chick.

    May 4, 2012 at 10:40 am

    • melissakoski

      I also told someone today to remember we are souls in a body and not a body with a soul. Wierd day (: It IS a full moon!

      May 4, 2012 at 11:08 am

  4. A very pastoral, comtemplative side of my wacko little sistah revealed here. I like it. Have a large time this weekend, darling one. Your pix and musings are a real gift to those of us who come here. (although, I do hope my Bishop never finds me here.)

    May 4, 2012 at 10:50 am

    • Oops! I thought my first comment failed and did an expanded version and, well, dont ever git old and have these whole senior mornings, lol

      May 4, 2012 at 10:53 am

      • louisva

        If it is any consolation, Paul, I have way too many of those senior moments. Well, let’s call it what it is – CRS caused by age. It is worse for me when I am fatigued. Did that help? Oh well, I tried!

        May 4, 2012 at 11:51 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks dear brother of mine. (: I liked reading both comments. I always appreciate your kind musings.

      May 4, 2012 at 12:04 pm

  5. louisva

    Lisa, Great pics as usual (I’m beginning to sound like a broken record) but this time I can actually pick out a favorite. The 2nd picture of the woods is so beautiful and free of undergrowth. A forest of that nature gives me a special feeling of tranquility that can’t be beat. I used to go to an under-used place in the western part of VA in the George Washington National Forest that was primarily Eastern Hemlock. Sadly, these beauties have been attacked by a bug called the “woolly adelgid” that is slowly killing these majestic trees, mostly in its southern range. If interested, there is a good article @ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eastern_hemlock.

    May 4, 2012 at 11:46 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Louie Lou. I’ll check out that link when I get out of the car (: That stretch of pines is beautiful. I call it “church” b/c it’s such a peaceful spot. I love running here b/c it is so private! Hope your feeling good buddy.

      May 4, 2012 at 12:17 pm

  6. forgetmenotmvp

    Great pictures Lisa. I am adding the first two to my tree collection. Strikes me as a dichotomy that you would run through this area when it offers so much peace and tranquility.

    May 5, 2012 at 7:00 am

  7. forgetmenotmvp

    Love these Lisa. Strikes me as a dichotomy that you would run through this area when it is so peaceful and tranquil. Bring on the pictures of the mushrooms!

    May 5, 2012 at 7:08 am

    • melissakoski

      I’ve walked through slowly with the girls and on my own many times. (: I almost always walk through the large pine tree part though since its so special.

      May 5, 2012 at 8:59 am

thoughts?

