Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

smell me..with your tongue

Northern Ribbon Snake

The snake smelling me with the tip of its tongue. The forked tongue helps the snake pinpoint the location of a smell.

A Chipmunk is a small squirrel. This chipmunk dove head-first through the leaves and down a tunnel into safety.

Chipmunks love to eat eggs according to the mammal field guide. I bet a million bucks a chipmunk ate the bluebird eggs out of the nest box. I’ve wrongly accused the raccoon for eating eggs and hatchlings. I’d feel worse about it if I weren’t supporting the raccoon’s pregnancy with suet and seed.

1/4 eaten Red Admiral butterfly.

A whole Red Admiral butterfly.

A honey bee covered in pollen on a dandelion.

19 responses

  1. Yikes to the snake. Beautiful to the rest of the pics however.

    May 1, 2012 at 7:15 am

  2. Again, you amaze me with your great pictures, Melissa. Your photo class is paying off.

    May 1, 2012 at 7:22 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Bob. I was glad to learn even more tonight. I’ve a case of information overload.

      May 1, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  3. That was a rather scary title, Melissa – fantastic photos! Jx

    May 1, 2012 at 8:17 am

    • melissakoski

      You just dropped a much scarier title yourself dear… loves J!

      May 1, 2012 at 10:11 pm

  4. Lovely images, Melissa. :)

    May 1, 2012 at 8:53 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Mike! I’ve been enjoying yours as well. I’m starting to see some of the flowers you’re posting… perhaps just same family of flowers. Hope you’re well.

      May 1, 2012 at 10:22 pm

  5. Great snake photos. You have excellent timing, good luck – or both – to get the image showing the forked tongue.

    May 1, 2012 at 11:43 am

    • melissakoski

      The snake was very tame and sat still for at least ten minutes while I took photos. Out of 100s this is the only one of the tongue.

      May 1, 2012 at 10:30 pm

  6. melissakoski

    Thanks Laurie. It was tiny, but loud cruising through the dry leaves.

    May 1, 2012 at 10:07 pm

  7. I am not a fan of bees, but i love this one, Melissa!

    May 1, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    • melissakoski

      They’re so easy going, intent on gathering pollen. I wondered how this one could even see.

      May 2, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  8. I take it from the colors that that’s POISONOUS snake? And I thought you were crazy getting so close to SKUNKS and stuff.

    May 2, 2012 at 1:54 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh pish posh Rev. Paul, It isn’t poisonous! I don’t think we have many poisonous creatures in our cold north. At least that’s what I tell myself because I like throwing myself on the ground to take pictures of snakes.

      May 2, 2012 at 10:38 pm

      • well here we have very colorful copperheads and bright colored snakes that are more deadly than the dread rattlesnakes out in bob’s west country. so i was taught to watch for the pretty snakes except the “water moccasins” that you see with their heads cutting through lakes and rivers that are poisonous. remember the snake scene from “lonesome dove”?
        . we used to stoopidly walk down the pipeline clearings in the woods in summer with our 22 rifles and plink the snakes that would literally be out there “sunning” in the heat, some poisonous, some not. only stooped thing i ever did in my life, of course.

        May 3, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    • louisva

      Howdy Rev Paul and Lisa, I am not able to tell from the angle of the pictures but I was taught to identify poisonous snakes by the shape of its head. Poisonous snakes have a triangular shaped head & non-poisonous have rounded heads. I cannot verify this with a citation so my policy is to stay away from any snake! Actually, they frighten me when I suddenly realize they are there (taken by surprise) but if I see them first everything is A-OK. I did discover something by accident – a “harmless male black snake” will charge you during mating season & they are VERY fast, esp. if you are dumb enough to toss rocks at them as I ONCE did.

      May 3, 2012 at 9:50 am

  9. louisva

    Lisa, Am I recalling incorrectly that you have cats? If so, I’m surprised that you also have chipmunks. We used to have quite a colony of chipmunks at my mountain cabin but our cat took care of that VERY quickly.

    May 3, 2012 at 10:12 am

  10. Gorgeous snake!

    May 3, 2012 at 7:14 pm

  11. starscraper99

    That snake is gorgeous! I also like the Butterfly pics.

    May 4, 2012 at 2:21 am

thoughts?

