Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

sex mystery

I solved the sex mystery. I know the gender of the mini ponies we visit.

The male likes to lick. The female has a runny nose.

My trackpad and touch screen don’t work that well. Another mystery….

Cooper lives near the ponies. Lovey dovey crowd today.

hatchling House Sparrows

Nestlings get rough with each other. First they stretch to become the tallest  and first to grab food. The strongest nestlings start shoving and pecking. The pecking looks ridiculous, like a flimsy head-butt.

Something ate the five Eastern Bluebird eggs out of a nest box. When I felt around the House Sparrow nest box I didn’t feel any eggs either.

Today I heard chirps from that nest box. I must have patted their heads yesterday when I was pawing around their nest feeling for eggs. I poked the hatchling  in the foreground (face-down) to make sure it was alive. I didn’t accidentally kill it yesterday.

Hatchlings competing for food

22 responses

  1. Jon

    Nice pictures. Love u

    April 24, 2012 at 6:20 am

  2. Anonymous

    The fact that you dare to stick your hand in their nest is amazing in itself. You’re a rockstar!@

    April 24, 2012 at 6:37 am

    • melissakoski

      Based on the word “dare” used when referring to helpless, blind, immobile, toothless creatures means this has to be my dear Jodi. Thanks BFF! Love you.

      April 25, 2012 at 11:43 am

  3. That last picture is a gem!
    Oh and tricky title!!

    April 24, 2012 at 6:46 am

    • louisva

      I’m with you on that, jmgoyder. How many more provocative title’s can Lisa come up with? Great pictures as usual.

      April 24, 2012 at 8:55 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Julie! I kept opening the nest box so the stronger ones would get tired and give the weaker ones a chance to get food when the parents actually came back with food to offer. Always a fan of the underdog. I’m a big fan of yours these days my friend!

      April 25, 2012 at 11:41 am

  4. Cool pictures, and love the last line. I think I should add “I didn’t accidentally kill it yesterday” to my list of things to say to strangers today :)

    April 24, 2012 at 7:32 am

    • melissakoski

      I think my mom must have used “didn’t accidentally kill anyone” regularly raising seven kids. (: Loved your honeymoon post…I thought for the longest time you really had a weirdo (adult) bellboy with belly button issues at the resort. Pls. tell me you’re selling your blog in book form now that you’re an old married lady. (though if you went to school with that idiot Kasha or whatever, you are a baby to me!)

      April 25, 2012 at 11:40 am

  5. Super pictures, Melissa. I’m so glad to see you’re feeling better. You haven’t lost your sens of humor. :-)

    April 24, 2012 at 8:51 am

    • melissakoski

      Aw Bob, I still feel like total shit, but even at my worst I’m still pretty hilarious and up for big smiles and laughs. (:

      April 25, 2012 at 11:36 am

      • Maybe you will get a kick out my post that I published this afternoon. If not, you may borrow my shoulder. :-)

        April 25, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  6. Great photos!

    April 24, 2012 at 10:28 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Cathy. Any toads in your houses yet? I’ve seen them in the yard despite the cold!

      April 25, 2012 at 11:35 am

      • I saw a toad when we had that warm spell but checked today and no toads. One had evidence of poop, so they are using the houses!!

        May 2, 2012 at 8:05 pm

  7. Wow! You outdid yourself with these, Sis.

    April 24, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks, my brutha. That means a lot to me. (:

      April 25, 2012 at 11:34 am

  8. Awesome photos, Melissa. I would swear you were in the nest with the little ones! Mom K.

    April 24, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    • melissakoski

      That’s exactly where I poke my big nose…right into their nest. (: xo

      April 25, 2012 at 11:34 am

  9. Happy to know the hatchiings are still a quartet! Priceless close-ups. Love the ponies and Cooper as well.

    April 25, 2012 at 6:24 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Shelia!

      April 25, 2012 at 11:33 am

  10. That last picture really captures the essence of the situation.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    April 27, 2012 at 9:39 am

thoughts?

