Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Queen of cash

One way I like to make big money is to hustle kids.

I bet them $5 that I’ll grab and hold one of the “bees” in the front garden for “At LEAST A WHOLE MINUTE –for real you guys!”

These bee look a-likes are actually  flies and don’t have a stinger or anything cool that  could inflict pain. It all adds up to easy money. Plus, these flies hover in one spot a for a long time, plenty of time to dramatically sneak up on this scary beast and impress the kids.

You can make a killing if you gather and hustle a large group of kids on their way to school or just off the bus in no time.

I’m considering changing my name to Meli$$a.

This is not a bee. It can't sting. It's a Hover Fly.

A BlueJay in the wind.

A Groundhog. This evening a strange groundhog showed up in the garden to eat. Both groundhogs puffed up their fur and then charged at each other. It was awesome. The good stuff always happens while dinner is cooking... we've achieved disgusting dinner number 8,000. I tear it up like Martha Stewart when it comes to nuts and raw vegetables and fruits though. (question: does she even cook or is she just crafty?)

Canadian Swallowtail. A swift flier.... I had lots of blank frames on my camera and blurry blobs trying to catch it.

A male house finch.

Chipping Sparrow, one of the tamest sparrows.

My favorite of the four Black-capped Chickadees, easily spotted by its missing foot and hole in its head.

Mourning Doves resting in the garden's afternoon sun.

Two large Toms have taken residence in the yard this week. Opening Day for hunting turkeys is only days away in Michigan.

36 responses

  1. These are some great photos :)
    The one with the Mourning doves especially caught my attention. I think it’s the contrast between the shadow in front and the light.

    April 19, 2012 at 6:27 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you. They blended into the ground and stayed in their spot for a few hours.

      April 19, 2012 at 10:28 pm

  2. ok, so you rip off kids. are you also going to shoot and eat the two turkeys from the last photo?
    :)

    April 19, 2012 at 6:33 am

  3. Anonymous

    Amazing L Jo!! Great shots G $!

    April 19, 2012 at 6:34 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Jodes! xoxo

      April 19, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  4. What a great post with fantastic photos. The trouble is when I saw the title I thought you might have won the lottery and you were going to share your winnings with us, so I am extremely disappointed – hehe!

    April 19, 2012 at 6:51 am

    • melissakoski

      Julie, If I won the lotto I’d whisk myself over to your side of the world to deliver it to you personally…in exchange for the gory details of your love story!! (:

      April 19, 2012 at 10:33 pm

      • It’s a deal!

        April 19, 2012 at 10:36 pm

        • melissakoski

          I suppose I should start buying lottery tickets!

          April 19, 2012 at 10:43 pm

          • That would be a good start!

            April 19, 2012 at 10:52 pm

  5. Lovely images, Melissa.

    April 19, 2012 at 8:50 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Mike. Been enjoying yours too.

      April 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

  6. louisva

    Great shots, Lisa. Hustling kids, eh? Have you no shame ? I have had groundhog trouble in the past. One kept going underneath a car and eating the wiring. It ended up causing $300 worth of damage. Finally, I figured out it was living in a nearby woodpile. Duh, move woodpile and no more problems. I was considering getting a vermin shotgun and breaking my own rule. I’m a pacifist and the only gun I have is a squirt gun for misbehaving cats. Thankfully, still no gun. The only downside is the razzing I am forced to take from friends and neighbors as this is gun and truck country. I DO have three trucks, lol.

    April 19, 2012 at 9:47 am

    • melissakoski

      Louis, no I have no shame….or very little. I had one that always slept behind one of my car tires a few years back. I was in the habit of checking for it before getting in the car. It never did any damage thankfully.

      April 19, 2012 at 10:36 pm

  7. You’re so funny! I’ll have to look for that fly so I can pull the same con on my nieces!

    April 19, 2012 at 10:32 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Cathy. (: I hope you find some and can pull off the transaction!

      April 19, 2012 at 10:38 pm

  8. The way I like to make money is by standing in dark alleys. When an un-suspecting person walks by I say, “Psst, hey buddy, ya wanna buy a hot Bob Zeller picture?” :-)

    Great pictures, Melissa, I am proud of you. :-)

    April 19, 2012 at 1:13 pm

    • louisva

      Have you done well financially, Bob ?

      April 19, 2012 at 2:21 pm

      • It can pay my bookie. :-)

        April 19, 2012 at 2:30 pm

        • louisva

          That is great news. I would try that myself but I am terribly frightened of dark alleys and I am not sure I’m the right type. Lastly, the social diseases of the past could be cured with a penicillin shot – today, uh well – I’m sure you get my drift.

          April 19, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    • melissakoski

      Bob, I’ve actually sold the January, Febraury, and March pages from my Bob Zellar calendar in that very same way! (:

      Thanks mentor Bob. (:

      April 19, 2012 at 10:40 pm

      • Ha! Ha! That’s hilarious, Melissa. You got me. You’re a hoot! I hope you got good money for ’em. :-)

        April 19, 2012 at 11:49 pm

  9. Meli$$a – how clever! You are quite the comic.

    April 19, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Sheila. (:

      April 19, 2012 at 10:41 pm

  10. melissakoski

    Alessandro, yes I rip off kids. I find they are quick to forgive if their respectfully ripped off. I won’t shoot the turkeys. These two are sure to taste disgusting.

    April 19, 2012 at 10:31 pm

  11. Better to hustle the kids in the morning before they’ve spent their lunch money.

    April 19, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    • melissakoski

      So true. May I add I’m not a fan of the new technology that gives the kids debit cards to use at lunch instead of old school cash. Its beginning to put a crimp in my finances.

      April 20, 2012 at 7:38 am

  12. You need more prayer than I’m capable of sending up, I fear. Hustling innocent little babes out of their milk money. Have you no shame, my sistuh?

    April 20, 2012 at 1:20 am

    • melissakoski

      Rev. Paul where have you been hiding?! No fear, no shame over here my brother as long as I keep acting with love…. and there’s nothing I love more than scammin’ kids. (: ha

      April 20, 2012 at 7:36 am

    • louisva

      Rev, you sound almost like a central Virginian with the sistuh. One small change would be required – say “sustuh!

      April 20, 2012 at 10:42 am

  13. louisva

    Wow! This posting seems to have topped “Call me a Stripper” and “I’m in Love with a Woman.” Keep it up, Lisa, and you will be “Queen of the Bloggers” before you know it – you perverse little puppy. Let it be known that I also LOVE your wonderfully sick sense of humor. I do feel only a little weird sitting here alone and laughing (as in out loud). Does anyone else do that or am I the only freak around here? Hmmm, I have a feeling that was the wrong thing to say. I can feel it coming already!!!!!!

    April 20, 2012 at 10:39 am

  14. I saw the $$ and immediately cringed. I went to junior high with popstress Ke$ha back when she was Kesha and things got weird :) You, though, are cool enough to pull it off, and I might just have to get in on this bus stop hustle scheme of yours. Brilliant!

    April 23, 2012 at 10:03 am

  15. Wonderful. The bluejay looks like a punk rocker!
    Found a hover fly on my floor today looking very sad. I put him on some rosemary in the sun, hope he survived

    April 27, 2012 at 1:50 am

    • melissakoski

      Those are so amazing Steve, just beautiful! (and I laughed)

      April 27, 2012 at 9:07 am

thoughts?

