Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

call me a stripper

.. spent some of today starting to build a trellis. I chatted with my dad this evening and found out what I need to do to stop stripping the screws to high heaven.

true story... I feel sorry for that poor screw
It's all worked out now. I wouldn't be surprised if my dad showed up tomorrow though to double-check on the situation. He's a great teacher.

A male Northern Cardinal

A Downy Woodpecker. It reached into that dark shallow hole several times before flying off.

clearing out some of the grape vines

a weeping grape-vine

frog... my field guide is upstairs.

A female Eastern Bluebird spending some time off her four eggs to eat bugs and berries.

Blue Jay

18 responses

  1. Anonymous

    I never understood how good your pictures were until I started taking my own bird pics. Talented lady, you are!

    April 6, 2012 at 8:05 am

    • melissakoski

      I’m guessing this is Jodi (; Thanks bff… I was sitting still on a rabbit trail (read sitting in rabbit crap) in my camouflage and the birds went about their business close by. Camo camo camo!

      April 6, 2012 at 8:46 am

  2. I so agree with the above comment!

    April 6, 2012 at 8:19 am

    • melissakoski

      I thought it was YOU Julie until I saw I hadn’t any Aussie visitors. My friend is just settling into a new house and getting her bird feeders out. (:

      April 6, 2012 at 8:48 am

  3. Amy

    Can’t wait to see the pics of the trellis! Dad is a great teacher and you are a great photographer!! Love the water droplet!!

    April 6, 2012 at 8:21 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Aim…. I’m sure Jeff’s trellis will blow my out of the water, but I’m just hoping for a functional one at this point! (not fall apart when the wind blows) (:

      April 6, 2012 at 8:44 am

  4. You probably got a million guys excited with that title. :-)
    I love this post and the photos. Great action shot of the bluebird, and that little frog is a cutie. Wish we had the downies down here. Happy Easter, Melissa. :-)

    April 6, 2012 at 8:35 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks and good morning Bob!
      The stripper bit barely beat out “I like to screw”, but maybe tomorrow…. I’m heading to the hardware store now to shore up my screw supply! lol Loves!

      April 6, 2012 at 8:43 am

      • You’re a hoot, and that’s why I luv ya. :-)

        April 6, 2012 at 11:02 am

    • louisva

      Bob,

      The title? Son-of-a-gun, didn’t even notice the title. She is VERY GOOD at the double entendre – almost as good as the photography .

      April 6, 2012 at 6:06 pm

  5. louisva

    Lemme guess about that screw – were you using a drill and Phillips bit?If you use that method, it works better to use a hex-head, self-tapping screw with the appropriate bit. However, if you were doing it by hand then I would pre-drill a hole that is a little smaller than the diameter of the screw; thus, making it much easier to screw it in. How did I do? Not even close, huh?

    April 6, 2012 at 8:56 am

    • melissakoski

      Amazing Louie Lou…. I have to check if I have a hex head bit before I head to the store. I pre-drilled, but didn’t take the time to find a large enough drill bit which my dad said I definitely needed for the bottom board since I’m “too small to have much torque”. I think I have the strength of an army (mistakenly!)

      April 6, 2012 at 9:12 am

      • louisva

        When I used to do electrical work, I gained a lot of strength in my forearms and would have been able to do that easily. Now that I’ve lost what my wife called “gorilla grip” I would not attempt to use the Phillips. The hex-heads that R self-tapping (meaning that you do not have to pre-drill); are what most people would use; however, I would more than likely do a pre-drill, then use a non-self-tapping screw that comes to a point. The downside is U really need two drills to use that method – one with the drill bit that is SLIGHTLY smaller than the screw, and the 2nd drill with the hex-head bit. Using the hex-head does not require as much strength! It can be done, of course with one drill, but that constant changing bits from one to the other is a pain in the a**.

        April 6, 2012 at 9:50 am

        • melissakoski

          thnx L- I found about 50 hex-head bits (: I was impressed with my bits change speed yesterday…. and it was a total pain in the ass. I’m down to one drill.

          April 6, 2012 at 9:56 am

          • louisva

            I was re-thinking what I said. Due to the delicacy of the trellis, I WOULD NOT try the self-tapping screw. Do the hex-heads U found come to a point? If so, good, but that makes it even more important to use a pilot hole. The self-tapping type screw requires a great deal of pushing pressure to get them started thus possibly breaking the boards of the trellis.

            April 6, 2012 at 10:08 am

  6. louisva

    Forgot – KUDOS go out for the title. It’s another great attention grabber like the recently provocative “I’m in love with a woman.” .

    April 6, 2012 at 8:59 am

  7. Your website is great! Keep it up.

    April 6, 2012 at 10:37 pm

  8. Those are some beautiful photos! I’m partial to birds and reptilians myself. I came over from a WordPress recommendation. I’ve enjoyed your blog so far!

    April 7, 2012 at 8:43 am

thoughts?

