Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

I’m in love with a woman.

I recently returned from a week of traveling that involved a lot of great time with my best friend.

I feel like I hardly get to see her now that we’re hours apart.

I met Jodi during our college years and love that lucky feeling I get knowing I know her.

 

We spent money on cocktails, building terrariums in The Green Room in Traverse City (thank you Megan Kellog), and lots of time wandering the acres of her new old farm home.

I took these pictures today in the yard after being gone for that wonderful week. A lots happens in a week or two.

A House Sparrow nest.

 

Legally I can destroy this nest, but they just rebuild. In the past when I've mentioned destroying their nest some one across the ocean messages me that I'm a cu^t for destroying the nest. I'm not destroying the nest this year and I expect a love note from my name-calling fan.

 

 

Four Eastern Bluebird eggs.

 

She must have started laying eggs as soon as I left last week. The bluebird nests are neatly made out of smooth dry grass. The House Sparrows use all parts of the grass, feathers, sticks and even bits of trash.

 

 

My favorite one-footed chickadee ate from my hand today. I was pretty relaxed this afternoon.

 

A Downy Woodpecker. The feeders are filled after a week of standing empty.

 

This pair of American Robins nested in the yard last year. The female is especially easy to differentiate from other robins because of her unusually light gray color.

 

Bleeding Hearts.

 

The garden didn't slow its growth despite the cool week.

 

 

tulips

14 responses

  1. What a fantastic post (with a very attention-grabbing headline!)

    April 2, 2012 at 12:42 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Julie. (:

      April 2, 2012 at 9:30 pm

  2. Spring is such a gorgeous time of year…love your birds and their nesting activities. We are fast heading into Autumn, my garden is full of deciduous trees and very few Australian natives, so the colours will be spectacular.

    April 2, 2012 at 3:13 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh Sue, what sort of winter conditions do you endure. I say endure because our winters tend to be cold and drab… though this last winter was sunny and balmy. I do love fall color!

      April 2, 2012 at 9:17 pm

  3. Amy

    Love the pics! Glad you had a good visit with Jodi!!

    April 2, 2012 at 8:02 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Aim. Was nice to chat today. Love you.

      April 2, 2012 at 9:15 pm

  4. I agree, your headline is very “attention grabbing”. Great photos again, Melissa. :-)

    April 2, 2012 at 9:53 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Bob! I haven’t had a sneaky headline in a while. (: xo

      April 2, 2012 at 9:15 pm

  5. louisva

    First of all – I agree 100% with “jmgoyder” concerning the “attention-grabbing headline.” However, as a self-confessed progressive, liberal, broad-minded, flexible, humanistic, politically left-leaning, permissive, tolerant, unbiased, unbigoted, unconventional, unprejudiced, and forward-looking person; I really do not care who you love. (see citation at end of post)

    Oh yeah, beautiful pictures!

    liberal. (n.d.). Roget’s 21st Century Thesaurus, Third Edition. Retrieved April 02, 2012, from Thesaurus.com website: http://thesaurus.com/browse/liberal

    April 2, 2012 at 10:03 am

    • melissakoski

      tolerance is great (: Hi Louis.

      April 2, 2012 at 9:14 pm

  6. louisva

    Going back and perusing the pictures made me realize that I left out “bleeding-heart” in my list of synonyms.

    As to the House Sparrow nest, I get those things every spring at the ENTRY DOOR to my cabin. Wow, do they make a mess and the aggravating things give me no choice but to cover my head while ingressing or egressing, lol. I’m pulling for you, Melissa, to not receive hate mail this year .

    April 2, 2012 at 10:14 am

  7. Gorgeous!

    April 2, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Tori. Love your big pimpin’ gravatar.

      April 2, 2012 at 9:13 pm

  8. Those eggs are beautiful!

    April 3, 2012 at 10:02 am

thoughts?

