Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

daylight savings… a stupid waste of clock setting?

This weekend our area experiences daylight savings time, where we move our clocks forward one hour, lose an hour of sleep, but gain an extra hour of daylight before the sun sets.

crocus

ice

I love reading something from a friend across the world and they mention seeing the same beautiful moon I'm seeing.
The moon rising.

Scott had better full moon photos here on his website….

http://littlecrumcreek.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/the-maple-moon/

13 responses

  1. Nice crocus photo, Melissa. :-)
    I kinda like that extra hour of daylight.
    Happy Friday! xo

    March 9, 2012 at 7:09 am

  2. melissakoski

    Thanks Bob and Happy Friday (yes!) Seeing the bulbs pop up yesterday was exciting! (: Happy Friday love!

    March 9, 2012 at 7:28 am

  3. Oh, that crocus!!

    March 9, 2012 at 8:15 am

  4. Thanks for the shout, Melissa. Lassoing the moon proves pretty irresistible sometimes, doesn’t it?

    March 9, 2012 at 8:56 am

    • Just checked out ur moon photos. Very nice, Scott!!!!!

      March 9, 2012 at 11:01 am

      • Sweet, Lou. Glad you stopped by!

        March 9, 2012 at 11:33 am

    • melissakoski

      Yes, but I’m moon horrible at this point.
      I have a tripod/ power line/ tethered- to -sleeping- babies- at -home situation I haven’t figured out how to work around yet.

      Seeing your images of the maple moon was great enough.

      March 9, 2012 at 10:03 pm

      • Aww, gee … By the way, I keep checking out that picture of the log ice and can’t recall ever seeing those kinds of ice shapes before. Of course, we didn’t see much ice this winter in southeastern PA, but I usually think of icicles tapering to a point, not getting wider. That’s really neat.

        March 12, 2012 at 10:23 pm

  5. I wish the powers that be would decide on one time or the other and make it all year long. It amazes me how much my biorhythms go wacko over a one hour change. It’s like jet lag and usually takes me a cuppla weeks to adapt. I’ll go with Bob – DST all year!

    HEY, I love your nerw gravatar. It looks so. . so . . photographery (as in I’m a photographer. If ya don’t know an appropriate word – make one up)!!!!!!!!!!!!

    March 9, 2012 at 10:56 am

  6. Great close-up of that crocus, Melissa! I’m with Bob Z. on the extra hour of daylight. :)

    March 9, 2012 at 9:43 pm

    • melissakoski

      I really do too Sheila! As of right now I am either stuck at a dance practice or neck deep in frantic homework help and dinner making while the sun is setting.

      We’ll be able to enjoy the sunsets and slowly transition to spending most of our free time outdoors in the light. (:

      March 9, 2012 at 9:57 pm

  7. Susan

    love that moon! beautiful!

    March 10, 2012 at 4:24 pm

thoughts?

