Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Have a seat (:

What do you love to sit on?

Eastern Bluebird- sitting in a hunk of lard

Eastern Bluebird- sitting in a hunk of lard

House Finch- sitting on an elderberry branch.

Tufted Titmouse- also on the elderberry.

American Red Squirrel- The Tyrant sitting on a snowy wall.

Red squirrels clip and gather truffles and other fungi and and lay them in tree branches to dry in the sun.

The females mate with 4-16 males the few hours they’re in estrous…getting the job done I say. The freaks don’t even care if they’re related.

This 6 inch guy is so territorial he's scary. Every time I look out of the window he's chasing one of the other squirrels away from the nut pile. He stood on the back on a patio chair a few feet from my face unwavering while I looked for my snowboard in the shed. I call him The Tyrant.

8 responses

  1. Love that bluebird, Melissa.

    March 3, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  2. “The freaks don’t even care if they’re related.” A trademark Melissa zinger; had me lol’ing here in the man cave where as you know I carry on whole conversations with myself. Speaking of related freaks . . . . they might be redneck squirrels; keep your guard up.

    March 3, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    • Yeah, this guy may be a redneck. He’s the one that’s always giving me this git a “harcut stuff.” Actually, stuff like that used to happen to me but the times were different in 1968. A buncha guys drive by me while I am walking on a public sidewalk. All of a sudden I hear “hey hippie, wanna beer?” I just kept walking but was baraged by empty beer cans. Glad they were empty as I would imagine that full beers would have been quite painful. I have no love for red squirrels as those rascals eat the siding on my cabin. They have slowed their destruction since I sprayed the bottom of the wood with cayenne pepper, lol. Love the pictures and the sense of humor as well. Great work, Melissa!

      March 3, 2012 at 6:28 pm

  3. dianne - "life as i see it" - "just because"

    awww, these are all so beautiful.. ; )

    March 3, 2012 at 5:22 pm

  4. Hi Melissa, just got back in time to see your latest collection of photos. Wow! My dear, you just keep getting better. :-)

    March 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  5. That bluebird reminds me that I need to exercise more…

    March 3, 2012 at 7:35 pm

  6. Beautiful photos and your information about squirrels is so funny!

    March 3, 2012 at 8:17 pm

  7. The squirrel kinda looked like he’s worried his kids won’t come home. =)

    March 4, 2012 at 4:34 am

thoughts?

