Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

missing chunks of face and face licking

This one-footed chickadee was born last summer. It flapped around wildly when it’d try to land on a branch. I noticed the chickadee was missing a foot after checking out the pictures of all the wild landings.

Here it is, months later, mastering using its leg for balance…the chunk-o-face missing in front of the eye doesn’t say life is all rainbows, unicorns, and glitter though.

 

Missing a chunk of face and one foot can't stop this power house. Seeing my favorite one-footed chickadee makes me completely grateful for the mild winter we've enjoyed.

a sibling chickadee with two feet

 

 

 

 

If you ever need a good face licking this is your girl!

13 responses

  1. It is amazing how wildlife can adapt to mis-fortunes. Love the horse. Great photos, too, Melissa.

    Happy Tuesday. :-) xo

    February 21, 2012 at 9:18 am

    • melissakoski

      I was excited to see it had adapted well enough to survive! Wish I would have realized it was my one footed fave when I was taking pictures.! xo

      February 22, 2012 at 4:52 pm

  2. Great thoughts today with some great pix, my little chickadee. It’s been fascinating to follow the uno-legged chickadee all this time. Love the funky looking horse you threw in with the pix of the little ones too. That creative mind of yours is just so curious and restless and all over the place, isn’t it. Sort of like your body when you and the littler kid are cooking. I’m still exhausted from watching that pre-dinner workout. (Does Jon have earplugs?)
    Happy Fat Tuesday, kids.

    February 21, 2012 at 10:18 am

    • melissakoski

      (: I tool all those pictures during a 30 minute stretch of bus stop picks ups and piano lesson drop offs…. I’m physically AND mentally all over the place. Our dance parties are always on Friday b/c that’s the only day we don’t have dance class. There’s a method to the madness.

      Hope your Lent shift isn’t too wildly busy and you have the energy of a 38 year old woman. lol

      February 22, 2012 at 4:57 pm

  3. This is hands-down my favorite chickadee with any number of feet. What a fighter!

    February 21, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    • melissakoski

      Mine too! I’m so impressed with it. (:

      February 22, 2012 at 4:57 pm

  4. Hey Melissa, i tried to find a like button on here and just couldn’t see it. Anyway i scooted on over to your place to check out your bloggin action. I like that you’re a naturalist and apparently a “scientist” with heart. I have a scientific persuasion but those chauvinistic scientists who want to control the public agenda, belief system and freedom of choice appear to have made a category error. Talk to me if you’re feeling fuzzy. I will subscribe to your blog for a while to see what comes up. Ciao for now. If I unsubscribe at some point do not be offended. It’s a taste & try before you buy strategy. I like the look of what you’re doing

    February 22, 2012 at 12:07 am

    • melissakoski

      I hope the blog suits you and promise not to be offended if it doesn’t. Thanks for stopping by.

      February 22, 2012 at 4:59 pm

      • Well I think i have figured out the mystery of the like button . . .and your posts are pretty likeable. I try to give as many other bloggers a go as possible. This is invariably in response to a comment or a like I get from some adventurous and outgoing soul such as yourself. I am guessing that if I subscribe to every single one that comes my way I would be . . .in a short time swamped. So the only way I can think of to manage the process is to give me a go and to drop out at some point if i am not finding it works for me. The danger is that this could offend someone. And I don’t want to do that. I think what you are doing is beautiful, great and really worthwhile. Let’s see what comes our way. And wheterh you are awake or sleeping – blessings

        February 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm

  5. Aw, man. For sure, animal adversity inspires gratitude and respect.

    February 22, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    • melissakoski

      And I also find it endearing.

      February 23, 2012 at 11:34 pm

  6. Great horse photo!

    February 23, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    • melissakoski

      Sheila it is the the most loving mini horse ever. (: If your face is in her reach she’ll lick it.

      February 23, 2012 at 11:36 pm

thoughts?

