Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

too busy for aspirin holding

This week some idiot politicians were chatting up birth control. Foster Friess, the main donor to a super PAC aligned with Republican presidential candidate Rick Santorum, made the most ridiculous comments suggesting Bayer Aspirin as a contraception method…that women could just keep an aspirin between their knees (their legs closed) and that would solve all this birth control nonsense.

beautiful Friday morning

 

Today could have been the most unproductive and wonderful day ever. This Canada Goose is sliding across the ice. It was a good sliding day.

It was sunny in the morning and snowed late afternoon.

All this action made us too busy to hold aspirin between our knees. Look how busy we were just making dinner…not a closed knee in sight. Click for evidence.

20 responses

  1. Great post! As I said on “Youtube,” your energy is quite impressive and so is your beautiful daughter. Rick “Man-on-Dog” Santorum wants to take us back to the 1950s – been there, done that.

    February 18, 2012 at 8:38 am

  2. Great close-up images of the deer, and I got a laugh with the goose sliding across the pond. Heavy rains here today so I am again, house-bound. :-)

    Have a great week-end, Melissa. xo

    P.S. I guess I am a naive Texan, but I don’t understand about the holding an aspirin between the knees. Is this an inside Michigan joke? (Chuckle)

    February 18, 2012 at 9:52 am

    • melissakoski

      OK Bob I updated the post! (: I wish the goose turned out better, but I wanted to get the word “slide” into my post… not really a post worthy photo, but it was a cool moment! xo

      February 18, 2012 at 10:22 am

      • Gee, such energy. I used to be able to do that. :-) Maybe I still can…..let’s see…..er……ugh………hey, somebody help me up………HELLLLPPPP!!!!! :-)

        February 18, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  3. melissakoski

    Scary stuff huh Louis. I thought my parenting lesson on Friday should be never to even think about holding an aspirin between your knees…what a waste of time. (:

    February 18, 2012 at 10:25 am

  4. nice post. http://youtu.be/7Tj_zzwTghk funny or not?

    February 18, 2012 at 4:25 pm

    • melissakoski

      I say totally funny..I was yelling, “Pack some damn nuts next time!” through the video. (:

      February 18, 2012 at 4:58 pm

  5. I love that shot of the sliding goose!

    February 18, 2012 at 7:34 pm

  6. So I come home from 9 miles on the treadmill at the gym–lotsa rain in Texas Our Texas today–make me an organic chicken sandwich with big slices of organic tomaters and some Greek peppers and ease these weary old bones into my easy chair to chill out. I click onto Melissa Not Dusting and am enjoying the calming influence of Melissa’s pictures (good for the digestion) and then click on the video and couldn’t help but watch the whole thing and now I’m so wired I may have to (a) go back for another run or (b) put the rest of the sandwhich in the fridge and have a stiff, relaxing drink because (like Melissa Jr) “I’m pooped.”
    Cheers.

    February 18, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    • melissakoski

      I wondered where you were Rev. Run run run. (:
      Holy smokes 9 miles! Lordy I’d only run half that with you…well maybe I’d make it since it’d be fun.

      Leah said “Oh poop!” disappointed the fun song/fun ended. I said, “Oh crap that sucks bear balls” but kindly cut that portion.

      When we “cook” we take turns choosing the song. (your blog has been helpful, thanks) This was Leah’s song she heard on the bus. She tells me “You’re songs are killing me slowly.”
      I tell her my job is to expose her, not to convert her…. but I must dance to crap and show her that her essence isn’t an issue. I love it.

      February 19, 2012 at 12:53 am

      • Kill her “slowly”? That girl is already like, Wack Mom Jr. What a little hoot.
        Still building up to that half marathon March 25, you know. was actually supposed to do 10 miles yesterday but running on a treadmill more than about 5 miles is jut torture. Outside on one of the many great running trails with lotsa nature makes it way more pleasurable, as I’m sure you’d agree.
        Just occurred to me, the Greeks used to run the Olympic marathons totally nude nekkid; I better go back and read the fine print on the consents I signed. Me running nekkid throught the streets of Dallas would be tantamount to an act of terrorism.

        February 19, 2012 at 9:49 am

      • melissakoski

        Rev. Paul it sounds like you need a copy of my homemade Eric Fisher poster for your treadmill to help you with those indoor miles…truly miraculous. (:

        February 19, 2012 at 7:53 pm

      • I was looking for a Charlize Theron poster thank you very much. You can have weather boy.

        February 19, 2012 at 8:48 pm

        • melissakoski

          (: love it

          February 21, 2012 at 6:11 am

  7. The more this birth control debate seems to be taken seriously, the more I check my calendar to make sure I’m still in 2012.

    February 19, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    • melissakoski

      Playing the role villain..women’s sexuality. So weird.

      February 23, 2012 at 12:42 pm

  8. Looks almost as if the Canada goose is dancing! Love the dear deer shots!

    February 19, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    • melissakoski

      It was cool to see it sliding across the ice…. it didn’t look very stable!

      February 21, 2012 at 6:11 am

  9. just the right dose of laughter for today…and some for tomorrow as well! i really needed this!

    February 21, 2012 at 1:03 am

    • melissakoski

      I’m so glad to read this we got you to laugh (:

      February 21, 2012 at 6:10 am

thoughts?

