Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

How to handle a ton of chores…

So today I was faced with a ton of laundry, chores and a bazillion errands.

I really struggled with shoe choice while ignoring my list of things I “should” do. My “shoulds” quickly became, “Should I get my running shoes on first or gardening boots? I shouldn’t stay inside for a minute today.” And I didn’t…..

I DID do some cleaning today. I moved logs, trimmed back raspberry canes and weed whacked the deer path. My farmer friend Ed says deer always follow the path of least resistance and I want the deer to come close for photos.

I didn't get a chance to see the weather, but could tell from the sunrise it was going to be a special day.

The Eastern Bluebirds stopped by for a morning snack.

A Downey Woodpecker perched on the ornamental grass.

A late afternoon turkey visit. I dug holes (the ground isn't frozen!!) and secured the Christmas trees in the ground to hide some of the ugly shed and give the birds some cold-weather cover. The trees are behind the turkey.

Sun and warmth in January is so unusual and a welcome gift.

An equally wonderful sunset to wrap up the light hours.

Flying fowl across the sunset.

19 responses

  1. Gorgeous sunrise/sunsets. Nice shot on the bluebird too. Really though, the whole collection is very nice. It sounds like you had a pretty busy and productive day!

    January 6, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Jomegat. I felt like I was getting a jump start on spring clean up. I even got some raking in…. I saw a ton of little plants you could name and way way too much garlic mustard.

      January 7, 2012 at 8:43 pm

  2. Aunt Lee

    Lisa, your photography continues to take my breath away – GORGEOUS!!!

    January 6, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Aunt Lee. Loves and hugs!

      January 7, 2012 at 8:40 pm

  3. Mom

    I knew I raised someone to make good choices!! Tremendous shots.

    January 6, 2012 at 9:05 pm

    • melissakoski

      You’re the best Mom. Thanks for your years of wise counsel- today was awesome. Can you believe I am waiting up for a child to return home on a Friday night?

      January 6, 2012 at 10:25 pm

  4. Beautiful!

    January 6, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Julie. Loved your last post!

      January 7, 2012 at 8:54 pm

  5. Man, a great day with the camera. Sis. (lol) Terrific pix.
    Detecting a lot of mom anxiety with the waiting up thing.
    Weather here today was almost spring like here, as all week it’s been. I walked/jogged/ran 6 miles today around White Rock Lake in the middle of Dallas— abeautiful lake in the middle of the city with 13 miles of jogging/bike paths around the lake and lots of other paths you can veer off on for some great nature–you (and Bob) would love it; lots of birders and camera nuts out there always.
    Plan was to work up to 5 miles in my training plan; veered off on a new trail, got lost, and did another mile trying to find my car–a full extra mile like, LOST!!!! (Ever felt like a moron wandering in the wilderness like Moses’s people??? (I’m downloading a map!) Can you say whipped down tonight??? Don’t think my insomnia will be a prob tonight.
    good night.

    January 7, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • melissakoski

      Howdy hermano,
      The waiting up was oddly tough, and if I hadn’t spent a great day outdoors who knows what shaped I’d be in….

      Nice run. You’ll be up to the whole 13 miles of trail system in no time! And are you implying Bob and I are some sort of “nuts” ? (:
      Eat a banana after your run to help yer old bones (muscles) recover.
      (that was for the nut comment)

      January 7, 2012 at 9:07 pm

  6. Wow!! This time you really did it, Melissa. Gosh, what wondeful awesome photos. I honestly don’t know which I like best, but the Downy Woodpecker, the Bluebird and the one with the sun shining thru the reeds, really take my breath away. And I am not just saying that because you are my crush. :-)xo

    January 7, 2012 at 6:13 am

    • melissakoski

      Awe thanks for the love Bob. I love the one with the sun coming through the reeds. I planted that last fall and the birds hang around on it all the time. Sometimes they are covered with about 20 song birds. The next lens would cover the distance from the reeds to the kitchen sink for a perfect close-up…. now to win the lotto!

      January 7, 2012 at 9:11 pm

  7. Amy

    Great shots on a beautiful day! Fabulous idea for the Christmas tree too!

    January 7, 2012 at 7:36 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Aim. It was so nice to see you today… but sad too. Love you tons, Lis

      January 7, 2012 at 9:14 pm

  8. Can I ask what camera you are using? These pictures are absolutely stunning, Melissa, and I would LOVE to try my hand at picture taking. I had a chance yesterday with a turkey but cell phone pictures just don ‘t cut it. BTW, I have a “Melissa” subfolder inside my “Wildlife” folder that now contains 61 of your pics. THANK YOU!!!!

    January 7, 2012 at 9:21 am

    • melissakoski

      Hey Louis, I have a canon eos rebel xs. Yes I can see where a cell phone and turkeys would pose a problem. It’s been so warm I’ve been able to hear them coming through the cracked windows and get set up before they start eating. (:

      January 7, 2012 at 9:24 pm

  9. i found your blog to follow, i love the title…and the pics, is it ok to add it to my blogroll?

    January 7, 2012 at 11:26 am

  10. such a perfect day. glad you could spend it outside! better than indoor chores ANY day!!!

    January 7, 2012 at 11:25 pm

  11. love the tall grass in the golden sky

    January 8, 2012 at 9:01 pm

thoughts?

