Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

another death

He has a small snood and looks old. He was very brave and ate well due to his fearlessness, venturing close to the house for food.

Young ones have short snouts.

Hairy Woodpeckers only venture close when temperatures are well below freezing. I think I'll see them regularly through the next few months.


**********
My sister’s dog died yesterday. He was delightful in so many ways. My Mom has a gift for writing obituaries. Here is Mason’s…..

“Today we lost our beloved, first grandog, Mason. He was a very large, family friendly chocolate lab. Naughty in his younger years, beloved by all who knew him except the mailwoman, loyal and protective of his family and wonderful friend to his grandfather. He will be remembered forever and missed by all.”

Mason James, 1998-2012

25 responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the death of your sister’s dog. He looked adorable, loyal and loving.

    Liking the photos of all the animals!

    January 5, 2012 at 6:47 am

    • melissakoski

      Thank you. He was full of love.

      January 5, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  2. It is so terrible to lose a pet. Ann and I are dog people, and we have lost our share and cried our eyes out. Each time, we say we will not get another. But it doesn’t work, the loneliness of not having one to love gets to us, and off to the pound we go. Or in the case of Suzie she comes to us. Great photos again, Melissa. Cute woodpecker. :-)

    January 5, 2012 at 8:10 am

    • melissakoski

      Bob,
      Yes,Mason was always a good companion and will be missed at the family gatherings. He loved to be a part of the action.

      Don’t forget you still have to tell me your story! (:

      January 5, 2012 at 9:50 pm

  3. TheBlackTwig

    Sorry about your loss. I hope you find a new Mason.

    January 5, 2012 at 8:29 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Dahlia.

      January 5, 2012 at 10:09 pm

  4. RIP sweet Mason

    January 5, 2012 at 9:36 am

    • melissakoski

      (: He was as sweet as a fat baby bird every day of his life.

      January 5, 2012 at 11:01 pm

  5. Sorry about Mason and did like your Mom’s obit. Hardly a week goes by on hospital duty that I don’t minister to somebody who says they feel so “silly” because they miss their dog or pets so much while confined to the hospital–I was once called to the room of a crusty old WWI Marine vet who was crying because he’d heard his dog was put down and he seemed to think it was un-macho or something to cry over “a damn dog.” So many folks will actually feel guilty or silly that they are in so much grief over the loss of a dog, sometimes still grieving after many months or even longer. Can see the relief in their faces after helping them process that grief and understand that they actually NEED to grieve that loss as much as if it were the loss of any close, warm blooded family member. I’ve actually had people say they feel guilty because they think they love or loved a dog more than some human in the immediate family and see the relief when I ask them what’s wrong with that–dogs are a helluva lot easier to love that a lot of people, even immediate family members, and that’s just a fact of life. Trying to deny that or feel guilty about it is more painful than accepting it and going with it.
    I’m struggling to decide if I wanna find another woman at this stage in life or get another dog. Leaning toward a babe with 4 legs.
    Later, dahling.

    January 5, 2012 at 12:08 pm

    • melissakoski

      Rev. Paul thanks for sharing your smarts about grieving. I feel that Americans in particular are oddly hush hush about death and grieving.

      Can you believe that was the second time today someone expressed a woman vs. pet scenario?! Either way if you meditate on love I’m confident you’ll make the right decision.

      I took advantage of our balmy and sunny weather you Texans are probably complaining about, and started to build a balcony identical to the one found in The Muppet Show for the two of you. Do you feel more like a Statler or a Waldorf? (: I jest, I jest.

      January 5, 2012 at 10:59 pm

      • Ha! I identify with both of the grumpy ol’ men.

        January 6, 2012 at 11:49 am

      • melissakoski

        I don’t believe you for a minute!

        January 6, 2012 at 11:59 am

  6. Sorry to read about Mason.

    January 5, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Cath. I always love your pet photos and appreciate Chuck’s love of the dirty laundry pile. All pets have their special quirks don’t they?

      January 5, 2012 at 11:03 pm

  7. I’m so sorry to hear of the death of your sister’s dog. I have personally only had one dog that was killed by a doberman and I know how it hurts. I have always been a cat person and have had to witness many deaths of these wonderful animals. I do not know the right words to use but to say I am truly sorry. Please send my sympathy to your sister, Melissa.

    January 5, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    • melissakoski

      Louis thank you so much.

      I’ll pass along your sympathies. I don’t think the words matter as much as knowing someone is thinking of you and the pain you’re experiencing- and that always means a lot. Thanks for being so thoughtful Louis. (I automatically add the regularly recited, “Now get a haircut!” to all my responses) Hope you’re well and enjoying the warmer than usual conditions this week like us northern folk. (:

      January 5, 2012 at 11:10 pm

      • Hate to correct you, Melissa Who Should Be Dusting, but it’s not as formal “Now get a haircut.” It’s the rednecky, “Git a haircut.” Git it?

        January 6, 2012 at 2:20 am

      • Sorry Paul but I ain’t a-gittin no haircut you redneck Texan! Do ya git it? And I am not getting a haircut either, Melissa. I’ve grown comfortable with my hair after many, many years so why would I change it now ? Just letting my freak flag fly!

        January 6, 2012 at 5:12 am

      • melissakoski

        Rev. it’s the northern newscaster dialect I’m using that caused my “GIT!” mix up. (: Louis your hair doesn’t bother me a bit! Happy Friday!

        January 6, 2012 at 7:13 am

  8. Vale Mason – what a wonderful face, and such a loss for all. He will leave a gap in folk’s lives, but great memories.

    January 5, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    • melissakoski

      He was a gentle giant. When I saw him a few days ago his eyebrows had suddenly changed from gray-speckled to all white. I remember when he had a dark chocolate coat of fur. Wonderfully, we have so many great memories of his antics!

      January 5, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  9. I feel so sorry for the death of your sister’s dog. The photo is cute, so adorable.

    January 6, 2012 at 3:09 am

  10. So sorry for your family’s loss of a beloved friend, companion, and one that love’s unconditionally.

    January 6, 2012 at 7:22 am

  11. So sorry to hear about Mason. That makes my heart hurt. Losing a companion is rough!

    January 6, 2012 at 3:04 pm

thoughts?

