Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

super duper 2011

I’ve always resented women repeating the inane quip, “I always dreamed about my wedding day.”

I consider myself creative. The furthest I got into wedding planning was

1. Lots of candles

2. 50 people

3. The song “Frankenstein”

As it turns out there is no appropriate time for an almost 5 minute musical interlude in a traditional American wedding… and the other two wedding wishes were pretty impossible too.

A few weeks after getting engaged we ran off to Las Vegas alone to get married.

My 2011 was great and I thought the great year matched my “wedding song” nicely. Because of my love for all of you, I shortened the song to three minutes.

Error
This video doesn’t exist
16 responses

  1. Yes! It has always mystified me the way people put their guts and dollars into a wedding not realising that after the wedding there is a marriage!

    January 3, 2012 at 6:54 am

    • melissakoski

      Exactly Julie! We had to decide to buy a party for strangers or a home. I’m still glad we took the selfish route and bought a home.

      January 3, 2012 at 9:01 pm

  2. Beautiful! May 2012 be year of no dusting too.

    January 3, 2012 at 7:30 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Laurie! I already tarnished 2012 and dusted today (: It was nice though b/c no one was underfoot.

      January 3, 2012 at 9:02 pm

  3. Good morning, Melissa. Gosh,what a great video. I am proud of you for that and having such a great year. I hope you have another one in 2012. Lots of love from this end. Hugs.

    January 3, 2012 at 8:01 am

    • melissakoski

      Hi Bob! Thank you for your support and encouragement as I bumble along this journey. Your positive support means a ton to me. xoxo

      January 3, 2012 at 9:02 pm

      • Melissa, I have a feeling, from all the answers you gave to your commenters that your marriage is just as solid as mine has been to Ann. Ours is 53 years and counting, and you would never believe how our came about. I’ll tell you about it some time. Hugs to you and Jon. :-)

        January 3, 2012 at 10:17 pm

  4. Amy

    Love it!! Fun to see 2011 on video! Enjoy your day today!!

    January 3, 2012 at 8:15 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Aim! It was a busy day, but felt great to be headed toward the normal routine. Missed you though!

      January 3, 2012 at 9:04 pm

  5. My daughter the wedding planner probably wouldn’t like this but she knows I actually agree with you about the wedding blowout thing. YOur wedding really was creative! (Never heard Frankenstein at a wedding I don’t think; that made me lol). Great vid, kid.

    January 3, 2012 at 10:30 am

    • melissakoski

      I won’t tell her Rev. Rund Run I promise. I have to clarify we didn’t actually use Frankenstein in our wedding… I don’t even think there was music, but I wanted to use it if I had a “real” wedding. When that was out I bailed- ha ha. Hope your training is going smoothly. Just getting back on track around here.

      January 3, 2012 at 9:09 pm

  6. First thought – never thought I would hear Edgar Winter associated with a wedding.

    Second – the best part of my wedding was marrying the right person and still being so happy in my marriage after such a long time. On the 20th of this month it will be 39 years.

    Third – I hope your happiness equals mine and your love grows stronger every day!

    January 3, 2012 at 10:32 am

    • melissakoski

      Exactly why I loved the idea of Edgar Winter at my wedding… I’m not big on conformity. lol (:

      I’m glad you found such a wonderful support and friend to have in you life Louis!

      January 3, 2012 at 9:11 pm

  7. Ah… Frankenstein! I always pair that with Hocus Pocus. This is the most incongruous (and fabulous!) choice for a wedding song since Nick and Mallory wanted to play “Lola” at their (fictitious) wedding in “Family Ties.”

    January 3, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    • melissakoski

      Ha I had forgotten about that from Family Ties Jomegat! What a great childhood memory… I think it was one of the few shows we were allowed to watch growing up. (:

      January 3, 2012 at 9:15 pm

  8. Way to go, Bob! I love to see long lasting marriages and you sure have me beat. Perhaps it runs in families as my parents were married for 52 years when my dad passed away. My wife’s parents had a 58 year marriage when my mother-in-law died. I think my wife, Kristen and I both, learned from them what a good marriage should be – love, understanding, and communication. I hope your marriage lasts another 53 years .

    January 4, 2012 at 8:41 am

thoughts?

