Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Not making meals……

TGIF
I get so excited about not packing school lunches it’s ridiculous.

Wild turkeys....very very far off the road. I'm not closer because it is still bow season.

Wild turkeys....very very far off the road. I'm not closer because it is still bow season.

Who made this? I've never seen a nest like this. It was in a tree by a large pond...Bob? Jomegat? Bird nerds?

Eastern Bluebird

Leah and I not making dinner... fun times dinking around.

12 responses

  1. I don’t know for sure, but quite possibly a squirrel’s nest. :-)

    Happy TGIF! It’s cold down here.

    December 2, 2011 at 9:40 am

  2. melissakoski

    I saw that on the news Bob! Wow… you might as well move back here (: lol You and Ann stay warm this weekend. Oh and will you pls. email me your address..have a note to send you. I tried to stalk you via the internet, but couldn’t find you. (: lisakoski@comcast.net

    December 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm

  3. It looks like a squirrel’s nest to me too.

    December 2, 2011 at 4:26 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Louis! Hope your Thanksgiving weekend was peaceful!

      December 2, 2011 at 4:30 pm

      • What a nice thing to say and yes, I did have a peaceful Thanksgiving. What is left of our families, my wife’s 88 yr. old father, and my 83 yr. old mother came up to the country in South-Central, VA and we ate at a local diner (very colorful place but that’s a whole new story). I really wanted to respond and let you know that I am a total amateur but LOVE nature and do a lot of self-study. Certainly wanted no misunderstanding, like that I knew what I was talking about. I am most-definitely a layman so anything I may say could be from outer space.

        I hope your holiday was peaceful as well!

        December 2, 2011 at 5:08 pm

        • melissakoski

          Louis I am very amateur myself! And I really do love getting info. from such a broad community!

          December 4, 2011 at 11:16 am

  4. My thoughts were also that it is a squirrel’s nest. And like Louis, my knowledge comes from self-study.

    December 2, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    • melissakoski

      I always highly regard a habitual observer’s observations. Enjoy the weekend.

      December 2, 2011 at 11:29 pm

      • melissakoski

        But I really have only seen squirrels around here makes nests out of leaves so this grass nest is still curious to me!

        December 4, 2011 at 11:14 am

  5. Anonymous

    We have two nests that look like that and since we never have your exotic birds, I am guessing squirrel also.

    December 2, 2011 at 10:51 pm

  6. Little Leah definitely got Mom’s blue eyes! Wow. Very cutie girl!

    December 3, 2011 at 2:48 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Rev.. I have a funny picture I should scan in and show some even more pronounced genetic traits I’ve passed to the darling. If you jump back onto facebook at Christmas I’ll post it for you to see as holiday welcome back. (:

      December 4, 2011 at 11:13 am

thoughts?

