Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

reminder about turkeys…

Is your turkey a boy or a girl? This is an easily solvable mystery if your turkey is still living.

 

Male turkey poop

Male poop, no question about it.

….. a female’s scat is like the top of your soft serve summer cones.

Again, my family is disappointed I don’t have photo’s of female turkey scat. This situation will easily be remedied in a few weeks.

 

* I’ve used the term scat in honor of Rev. Paul before his electronic departure during Advent.

 

HAPPY THANKSGIVING

9 responses

  1. Melissa, you are a hoot!! That’s Texan talk for a very funny, lovable friend. You always give me something to smile about. As far as the turkey that Ann and I are having, something pressed into a loaf, I guess it must be trans-gender.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. :-)

    November 24, 2011 at 8:06 am

  2. I must admit I didn’t know what turkey “scat” looks like. Next time I see “scat” in the shape of a “?,” I will know what I’m looking at.

    Have a happy Thanksgiving everyone! I will certainly be counting my blessings today!

    November 24, 2011 at 8:43 am

    • melissakoski

      Happy Thanksgiving Louis! I was shocked the first time I saw it myself… and impressed. (:

      November 24, 2011 at 9:16 am

  3. melissakoski

    I must admit Bob that I love turkey loaf! And guess what? I found out we’re not even having turkey at our feast today either. (: Hope you and Ann have a great Thanksgiving! xo

    November 24, 2011 at 9:15 am

  4. I wasn’t sure if you were joking when you wrote this a little while ago. Now you’ve convinced me. As an amateur animal tracker this is valuable information. I’ve never seen it in any of my books.

    November 24, 2011 at 11:56 am

    • melissakoski

      Jomegat I’m surprised you haven’t seen it in any of your books. I consider you to be my walking field guide, figuring you’ve run into just about everything..

      November 25, 2011 at 7:57 pm

  5. Aw, sweet of you to think about me when posting about turkey, uh, scat.
    Blessings on you and the fam, ‘lissa.
    Rev. Paul

    November 24, 2011 at 12:34 pm

  6. Seriously, that really is a fascinating picture, btw. Wish more people would get back to nature with all its fascinations that you call attention to every day so beautifully every day.

    November 24, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Rev. Paul! I hope you had a blessed day with family and friends yesterday.

      November 25, 2011 at 7:59 pm

thoughts?

