Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

You no-neck son of a bird

A migrating White-crowned Sparrow was once tracked moving 300 miles in a single night. If I make it 4 miles I think I’m doing awesome.

White-crowned Sparrow

The nuthatches stay around all winter. I’m ignoring the arrival of the Dark-eyed Juncos….a sure sign winter is approaching.  The nuthatch is a “ small bird with a large head and almost no neck“.  The football player of birds perhaps?

.
White-breasted Nuthatch

Most trees are almost bare of leaves, but there are still some flowers to enjoy before the snow flies.

Mums
8 responses

  1. Awesome photos of the birds. And I’m jealous to see you still got some amazing flowers around.

    October 21, 2011 at 9:50 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Gracie- there’s not many left and I guess we’re getting a freeze tonight which will kill the last of the blooms. ): Doesn’t seem to stay long enough for me!

      October 21, 2011 at 8:01 pm

  2. Anonymous

    Your pictures bring me such joy! Thank you for sharing your gift. One of these days I will get my act together and order some. It will be hard to chose. Hope all is well. Nanci Marsman

    October 21, 2011 at 10:49 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh Hi Nancy! Thank you for saying such nice things. Hugs!

      October 21, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  3. Very beautiful and fabulous shots on birds. wow… its amazing to know a tiny sparrow flew this miles overnight! First time here and i just loved your photos. Keep it up :)

    October 21, 2011 at 10:51 am

    • melissakoski

      It’s an amazingly long journey isn’t it? What a work out (:

      October 21, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  4. I’ve never thought of a nuthatch as being so neckless, but it looks to be true. Thanks

    October 22, 2011 at 8:57 am

    • melissakoski

      Galen my bird bath was frozen solid today and I thought of your warm weather and liquid water fun. (:

      October 22, 2011 at 9:06 pm

thoughts?

