Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Frog and Toad enjoy fall…well, Frog does.

Treefrogs on the side of the house.... warming up in the morning. See the poop?

the other half of the circle of life…

American Toad. The size of this toad impressed me enough to jog back home and grab my tape measure. I think the tape measure is for sewing, but done wonders measuring animals. My mother-in-law was right, everyone should have one.

 My field guide says they grow from 2-4 inches.

Do you think the tire stretched it?

It smelled badly after cooking on black tar on a sunny 80 degree day.

Looks like this American Toad took a tire to the tail end. I think it's old since its huge.


Another full and beautiful fall day.

10 responses

  1. I also find tape measures helpful for measuring the size of post it notes when I am ordering them. Wouldn’t be without it!

    September 13, 2011 at 6:45 am

  2. I use my sewing tape measure for measuring cockroaches.

    September 13, 2011 at 6:55 am

    • melissakoski

      brillant… I needed it on our last vacation. (: Just got your letter I mailed weeks ago back in the mail… sending it back out today! xo

      September 13, 2011 at 7:12 am

  3. melissakoski

    I love that we’re like McGuiver Mom (: I had to do that getting school supplies //Leah needed a tiny size. xoxo

    September 13, 2011 at 6:56 am

  4. Anonymous

    So glad the tape measure is being used for something useful!

    September 13, 2011 at 9:16 am

    • melissakoski

      This anonymous sound sa lot like a mother-in-law (: And I always know where it is (now) (:

      September 13, 2011 at 9:41 am

  5. TMI
    lol

    September 13, 2011 at 5:24 pm

    • melissakoski

      You should have heard the gals at the dance studio Rev. Paul (: NOT impressed.

      September 13, 2011 at 9:57 pm

      • Ha!
        well it didn’t help that I wasn’t quite over a virus that had me really sick–of all days for you to post THAT instead of a nice butterfly or sumething easier to stomach! I’ll forgive ya though.

        September 13, 2011 at 11:00 pm

  6. I often use a US quarter for scale in my photos. It’s very close to one inch in diameter.

    September 13, 2011 at 11:00 pm

thoughts?

