Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

trouble in paradise

About 85 percent of people are allergic to the urushiol in poison ivy.

Poison Ivy?

TROUBLE

So Jon cleaned out the garage and I always manage to undo that sort of progress pretty quickly.

In true lazy form I left a bag of bird seed in the front seat of the car and left my window cracked. My daughter and I ran into the friendly red squirrel hanging out on my dashboard when we walked into the garage. It lept out the window right away. I swept the empty sunflower seed shells to the garage floor before I remembered Jon’s cleaning efforts.

Eaten sunflower seeds in the front seat.

Morning Glory

White elderberry berries- a favorite of Cedar Waxwings

6 responses

  1. Ha! I need to check on a local elderberry tree. It might be ready!

    August 26, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    • melissakoski

      The day I bought some elderberry bushes from the local nursery, in order to attract and spot a Cedar Waxwing for the first time, I noticed a flock of Cedar Waxwings in the Juniper Trees on the edge of the woods… the edge of the woods filled with elderberry. (: Glad you’re not in the brunt of the storm jomegat!

      August 26, 2011 at 9:34 pm

  2. I had looked a couple of times before I noticed the bare foot in the ivy. That’s really sacrificing for your art!

    August 26, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    • melissakoski

      Ha I am so glad you noticed my foot in there! Since I’ve never had a rash I’m always wondering if it really is poison ivy. (:

      I think my daughters and I are in the 15% not bothered by poison ivy. There was some growing across our front path last summer and we never broke out despite trudging through the ivy every day.

      August 26, 2011 at 9:30 pm

  3. Dastardly red squirrel at it again!! Blast those things. Love the horse pic. Gorgeous light!! Oh, and there are those cute sandals, again. :-)

    September 2, 2011 at 12:53 am

    • melissakoski

      It was RIGHT after you wrote of the terrorizing squirrel that this one was in our car- so I thought of you and your note right away (:

      September 2, 2011 at 9:19 pm

thoughts?

