Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Wet and wild

Yesterday was a rainy day and the mosquitoes are officially out in full force. Every time I moved brush today hundreds of mosquitoes took flight. More rain and a funeral are in Sunday’s forecast.

Black-capped Chickadee

There's a little water inside our rain boots after we played in the rain.

Chipping Sparrow with some food

Northern Cardinal

A Gray Catbird

Here’s a link to Gray Catbird information. I wish I saw more of them around the yard.

Gray Catbird Information

2 responses

  1. Tell me how to identify the catbird. I often think I see them, but then realize I have mistaken someone else.

    August 7, 2011 at 8:41 am

    • melissakoski

      They’re all gray and have a little dark gray streak or cap on their heads. They’re usually hopping about small trees and thick shrubs. I notice them in the garden in the morning and see them in the shrubs along the road singing like mad…kind of private. xo

      August 7, 2011 at 9:02 am

thoughts?

