Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

timing is everything

The greenhouse finally restocked the baffles I use to keep the raccoons out of the nest boxes.

The baffle is made out of black metal.

 

I’ve been looking to buy another baffle since the male wren snagged a mate (and his last nest was ransacked by a raccoon. )

By the time I unloaded the new baffle a different  wren was busy building two new nests and the baby bluebirds were about to fledge..and therefore the adult bluebirds were in the market for a new nest…a nest that would need a new baffle for protection.

I’m in a wait and see pattern to see what nest box the bluebirds use next. Any way you slice it I’m short a few baffles. Some one’s eggs are going to be raccoon treats.

A House Wren building a nest in the front nest box.

Juvenile Eastern Bluebirds jostling for a view.
Considering a first flight…. until a vehicle passed through. This year it’s a mini van disruption and last year a cement truck. We’ll be down to bikes by next June
It was at this point my husband tore through the yard in my mini van to haul some heavy stuff. I wish I could buy him an all terrain mule-like vehicle for father’s day. (: The Bluebirds decided to wait to take their first flight.

We all went on a nice evening walk and spotted a young raccoon tucked into a dead tree and a lovely deer.

Young raccoon

I’m compelled to make shooting sounds when facing the broadside of an animal.

7 responses

  1. Mom

    I can see why he turned to face you. Great pics!

    June 16, 2011 at 6:11 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Mom.

      June 16, 2011 at 8:26 am

  2. Anonymous

    Perhaps I should know what a baffle is???

    June 16, 2011 at 7:19 am

    • melissakoski

      It’s a piece of metal shaped like an upside down cone. I wrap them around the posts of the nest boxes to keep the raccons from reachign into the nests. Most people use them on a pole holding a bird feeder to keep the squirrels away from the birdseed. (:

      June 16, 2011 at 8:28 am

      • melissakoski

        I added a picture of my current baffle.

        June 16, 2011 at 8:39 am

  3. hve

    Wow! Beautiful!

    June 18, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Helen!

      June 18, 2011 at 7:18 pm

thoughts?

