Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

This just in, some flowers are bisexual.

Japanese Iris...I love the flower AND the foliage.

My very first Rhododendron from my favorite greenhouse, Romence Gardens. It's alive and I planted it last year in heavy clay. (not ideal conditions!) In my defense I did fertilize the plant last fall and worked compost into the clay.


Romence Gardens website, my favorite greenhouse.

The first flower on the Purple Clematis.

Blue False Indigo (Baptisia australis), a pretty pea.

4 responses

  1. Thomas Vander Ploeg

    Have a save trip up North. Glad you are going with your mom and dad. Be save. uncle Tom

    June 3, 2011 at 6:30 am

    • melissakoski

      Ha I just said on my way up that my NEXT blog title was.. “Has anyone seen my Uncle Tom?!??!” (: Hope you had a good visit w/ Jenny and Gaz. xoxo

      June 3, 2011 at 10:32 pm

  2. Your things are so much further ahead than mine. My iris just now have buds, my Japanese iris aren’t even considering flowering yet, nor is the clematis. My indigo is about 3 inches tall – and that has me excited. :O( I have flower envy.
    Oh, nice title. I am guessing that wasn’t from the auto title generator!

    June 3, 2011 at 6:49 am

    • melissakoski

      No auto generator there! Don’t forget you have mature trees that huge woodpeckers and owls adore. (:

      June 3, 2011 at 10:32 pm

thoughts?

