Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

I’m a professional creeper, but not the creepy kind trying to chat it up at the gym.

It’s easy to creep around in the woods quietly when the forest floor is coated in moss.

When I saw the deer on my birthday I was tromping through a noisy patch of woods littered with dry dead twigs and branches. I’m not a hunter, but I have similar goals in trying to get as close as possible to animals undetected.

Instead of shooting a gun I just make shooting sounds when I get a clean shot. Sometimes what could be a clean kill in hunting is a terrible photo… like a deer with its head behind a tree.

A mossy log

tulips

It’s taking me a long time to name wildflowers and butterflies compared to birds. I need to take my field guides to these long evenings at the dance studio.

Spring Beauty

Wild Blue Phlox is a native wildflower and I came across this lovely patch in the dappled sunlight in the woods. I thought I had wild phlox in my yard, but it’s actually non-native Dame’s Rocket.

Wild Blue Phlox

2 responses

  1. Jon

    I don’t think you are creepy. (:

    Great pictures Melissa!

    May 18, 2011 at 7:48 am

    • melissakoski

      I’m glad to hear that love. (: If you thought I was creepy that’d make you a wierdo.

      May 18, 2011 at 8:40 am

thoughts?

