Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Stand on my back and fertilize my eggs

My friend recently asked if I’d seen any frog eggs yet.

I’d only gathered tadpoles before, and wondered what frog eggs even looked like.

Yesterday afternoon one of two toads jumped into a pond as I approached. The toad below sat unmoving while I took a few pictures.

It was then I noticed long black strands of what looked like string. Toad eggs!

The nearby toad continued to sit still even after my kids and their friends stopped by to skip rocks. Luckily I have a one skip rule so she wasn’t too disturbed.
I’m assuming this was the female sitting quietly by freshly laid eggs since I read
the male steps on her back to fertilize the eggs she lays. Her end of the deal seems more physically demanding and more deserving of an extended rest.

A toad.

eggs

It's not string after all.

So now I have a great jar of toad eggs!

6 responses

  1. Fantastic pictures! And lucky you you got to watch! Jealous. Totally jealous.

    May 12, 2011 at 6:42 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks.. funny to be thinking about asking you about eggs then spotting them a second later. (: I hope lots of them hatch!

      May 12, 2011 at 9:57 am

  2. Whoa, great shots! I’ve never seen frog eggs before. How cool!
    You crack me up as always. :)

    May 12, 2011 at 12:54 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Leah. Missed you while you were gone! (:

      May 12, 2011 at 2:58 pm

  3. great!

    I love toads and frogs. I recognise how ugly they are, but there’s something very loveable about them too.
    You shots are very ncie

    May 23, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks for the kind words. Its fun watching these tadpoles get bigger everyday!

      May 23, 2011 at 5:05 pm

thoughts?

