Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Cranes and crap

I’m still waiting for the rabbits to eat all the tulips so I try to enjoy them as much as I can every day. Usually the lilies are dug up and eaten by now too, but they’re looking good and growing an inch or so every day.

Tulip

bleeding hearts

A crane spotted from the side of the road...so I parked and stalked. See it back in the dandelions?

I got close enough to get my eyes pecked out.

Sandhill Cranes have a wing span of 6-7 ft.

It finally got sick of me and flew off.

10 responses

  1. TheBlackTwig

    The bleeding hearts are lovely.
    But how come rabbits eat tulips? :(

    May 12, 2011 at 5:35 am

    • melissakoski

      Both the rabbits and deer love the taste of the tulips. The rabbits leave the tulips looking like someone came by with scissors and snipped all the blooms off! I think they’re too busy eating my rose bush to bother with my tulips though. (:

      May 12, 2011 at 9:56 am

      • TheBlackTwig

        Nature has a lot of surprises. Keep posting. :)

        May 12, 2011 at 10:55 am

      • TheBlackTwig

        By the way, I want to let you know that you are one of my favorite bloggers. Check this link :) See you around! http://theblacktwig.wordpress.com/my-favorite-blogs/

        May 12, 2011 at 10:56 am

        • melissakoski

          Thank you sooooo much!! (: So kind!

          June 1, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  2. you live in an awesome place!

    May 12, 2011 at 7:42 am

    • melissakoski

      I think so too. I love that a simple walk to the pond or down the road always presents some fantastic experience with nature!

      May 12, 2011 at 9:58 am

  3. I had the same problem with squirrels snipping the heads off my tulips (I live in a city without many rabbits). I solved the problem by putting a mylar balloon by my tulip bed during budding season. The way it jerked around frightened off the little beasties.

    Also, I really like your lovely photos of the crane (NYC doesn’t have many of those either)!

    June 1, 2011 at 5:11 pm

  4. Love the title of your post :), I really like the first photo of the tulip, but great capture of the crane flying away

    June 22, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks for the compliments. I appreciate you stopping by and enjoyed checking out your site too!

      June 22, 2011 at 8:22 pm

thoughts?

