Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

you know you’re old when thinking…..plastic bag or heron?

I noticed a shape near the edge of the nearby pond and thought maybe it was a Green Heron. In the past they’ve stood in that spot to hunt frogs and the pond is recently alive with frogs. At closer inspection I saw the mystery object was just a plastic bag. When I looked up in the tree though I did actually see a Green Heron.

Green Heron

Tulip

She's got full cheeks every time I see her.

Looks like the raccoon successfully tunneled and scratched the chipmunk

The day ended with a beautiful rainbow

10 responses

  1. I am always amazed by what you capture on camera. Great photos today!! (esp. the tulip!!)

    May 10, 2011 at 9:19 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Cecilia!

      May 10, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  2. Mom

    I was so happy to see your picture of the rainbow. We were walking at the mall when it was raining on one side and the sun was shining on the other so I thought there might be one.

    May 10, 2011 at 10:18 am

    • melissakoski

      Exactly how I thought to look for one. It was dark and then some sunlight spilled into the window. Jon and Krystal saw be bolt outdoors in my socks in the rain and said, “Oh jeesh she sees some animal”. (:

      May 10, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  3. nice rainbow; interesting, ain’t it, how rainbows always stops us in our tracks and make us feel good for a fleeting few moments no matter what we’re doing

    May 10, 2011 at 11:18 am

    • melissakoski

      They are definitely neat. I remember seeing parts of them as a kid above the church across the street. I never saw a full one until I moved out of the city.

      May 10, 2011 at 3:19 pm

  4. I like the chipmunk photos. Very nice!

    May 14, 2011 at 10:38 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks! They certainly are tame and not skittish when I’m around.

      May 14, 2011 at 10:55 am

  5. Last week, I ran for binoculars & camera to see what looked like a scarlet tanager perched on a creek rock here in PA. Turned out to be a red plastic flower washed downstream.

    Nice eye for the heron!

    May 31, 2011 at 3:42 pm

    • melissakoski

      That’s funny Scott. (: I’m glad it’s not just me!

      June 2, 2011 at 12:39 pm

thoughts?

