Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Welcome new visitors

Welcome to my trashy deck, littered with suet, bowls of jam and oranges.

My daughter and I spotted this female Robin outside the window from our table in Subway. My daughter was mortified, but not surprised, when I stood on my chair to see if there were eggs in the nest. There were!

nesting Robin

The odd-colored fox squirrel. We obviously run a relaxing operation around here.

First sighting of a female Yellow Warbler this spring...from a very long distance. She disappears when I go outside.

5 responses

  1. Mom

    Your mom used to mortify but not surprise her children by rearranging flowers in doctors offices and in church when they were not pleasing to the eye. Who knew it was a heredity thing?

    May 4, 2011 at 9:01 am

    • melissakoski

      Like grabbing seed pods (:

      May 4, 2011 at 12:24 pm

  2. you been jitterbugged.
    God help you.

    May 4, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Paul! You rock (:

      May 4, 2011 at 5:47 pm

  3. here’s to mortifying daughters! i have mortified mine on more than one occasion in her life and at 23, she seems unscathed by my odd behaviors! i would have stood on my chair to look for eggs in the nest also!

    May 5, 2011 at 4:25 am

thoughts?

