Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

snakes in sombreros

A fungi and stick cleverly disguised as a grouchy snake in a sombrero.

Young woodpeckers are so loud it’s easy to go out and just listen for their nests.

The area I’d like to go listen for nests may be used for spring turkey hunting.

I’ve just got to meet this landowner so I can ask….. It’s not easy to tell who owns the land.

I’ve tried to figure it out with a couple of “drive by’s”, but it didn’t clarify anything. I’m tempted to leave a notecard in a plastic bag on the tree stand, a complete bird nerd move.

I think I'd attach the note to the ladder and not risk climbing up to the platform. There are a lot of raccoons in the area that probably play on the stand's ladder and compromise its safety..... and I'm totally afraid of heights.

I had my first flicker sighting of the year yesterday morning.

I love their gold tail feathers visible in flight and the fact they eat red ants.

A Northern Flicker. They eat the plentiful ants in the yard.

2 responses

  1. Hilarious! Love the snake in a sombrero. Good stuff. :)

    March 20, 2011 at 10:26 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Leah… I don’t think many people saw it. I laugh everytime I look. (:

      March 21, 2011 at 8:36 am

thoughts?

