Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Might I suggest a good natured mate….

Yesterday I saw a Northern Shrike for the first time. They’re the only carnivorous songbird, often impaling their victims on barbed wire fence.

When the shrike moved from a tree branch to the ground it was so graceful. I probably said, “Wow” out loud. I mistook its controlled strength for gentleness.

I couldn’t get very close, but it inspired me to jot down “longer lense” on my birthday/christmas list.

Northern Shrike, carnivore song bird.

Northern Shrike

This afternoon I said to Jon, “The greenhouse is getting pretty full!”

He said, “You do know that it’s a laundry room right?”

We both laughed.

I’d like to carve out a corner of the greenhouse/laundry room to store the suet away from the opossum at night, but I better not push it.

The empty suet feeder. The opossum has upgraded from discarded sunflower seeds to lard.

6 responses

  1. Jodi

    That bird is scary!!! I love the photos of the birds in flight!

    March 9, 2011 at 6:25 am

    • melissakoski

      It moved so beautifully it didn’t seem scary, but what a killer. It was curious too.

      March 9, 2011 at 7:25 am

  2. Mom

    Great sighting. I will remind Jon of the lense in late April! Hard to believe the pictures could get any better though.

    March 9, 2011 at 6:34 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Mom!

      March 9, 2011 at 7:24 am

  3. Rose

    Your mom is right. That was a great in flight photo. Love how observant you are. I just bought a new suet holder with a cage around it and the opossum hasn’t figured it out yet. Don’t forget PR has an unused greenhouse too.

    March 9, 2011 at 9:19 am

  4. Amy

    Love the Greenhouse comment!! Beautiful pictures as always!

    March 9, 2011 at 10:05 am

thoughts?

