Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

“We’re both here so we might as well…..” said the gray squirrel leaning towards the red squirrel.

Many little rodent-like mammals are newly active.

Several breeds of squirrels, opossums, and skunks are now moving around, stinking things up, getting hit by cars.

My Mammals of Michigan field guide doesn’t cover the squirrel below.

That makes me wonder if the squirrels around here are “hybrids”…… proof of a free love philosophy among the local squirrels.

mystery squirrel (mystery to me)

I was delusional in hoping that after a few warm days last week, I’d be able to successfully start some pots of seeds and my elephant ear bulbs in the garage.

I forged ahead and potted some bulbs and planted some flower seeds. I wrapped containers of seeds and bulbs in a few strands of Christmas lights for a little extra warmth if the nights temperatures turned cold.

The next few weeks barely rose above single digit temperatures. I finally moved the pots and flats inside as neatly as possible.
I’d like to thank my family for being so tolerant of a makeshift greenhouse in-house. After all it was 4°F yesterday and raining ice today.

A male Eastern Bluebird in Friday's sleet.

The wheat grass below is for the cat. The other seeds shouldn’t be started before April, but I couldn’t wait.
The seeds are now safe indoors. They’ll have to be moved to larger containers and coddled to survive until they’re planted outdoors mid to late May. Will any survive?

Before school every morning one of my daughters uncovers the flat and takes a deep sniff . “Hmmmmmm that smells good…like spring”.

Wheat grass, Zinnia, and Cosmos planted too early.

4 responses

  1. wow, that’s a squirrely squirrel. The posting on crows the other day brought back great memories of when I was living the rural life with crows all over the place. One day underneath the steps to the house I discovered a pile of weird stuff–a faded old golf tee, a string of thread sort of balled up, lots of pop tops (this was the days of pop top beer that the tabs popped all the way off so I’m really going back here), little pieces of faded newspapers and just a strange assortment of things. I finally discovered it was the crows storing this stuff under there. Then when I started observing them I discovered these kinds of weird pilings all over the place and then became intrigued whenever I’d seen one stowing something away like that. It’s like they collect junk and store it, for something to do I guess.
    Anyway, love the blawg, nature girl.

    March 5, 2011 at 12:11 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks for the kind words Paul. I’ve never gotten to see a crow store a treasure away yet. (: Last summer I did toss a piece of crumpled aluminum foil into the yard when the crows were close. I was hoping to see one swoop down and investigate, but didn’t have any takers.
      – Melissa

      March 5, 2011 at 8:11 pm

  2. Really like that photo of the bluebird.

    March 10, 2011 at 8:14 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Gina!

      March 10, 2011 at 10:35 am

thoughts?

