Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Aside

Privacy

Uh...

no privacy

Deer on the patio at noon. The middle of the day sighting was a bit unusual, but food is more important in the bitter cold.

My mother-in-laws favorite bird.

Northern Cardinal

I took this photo in the middle of last March. The garden where these bloom is now covered with a foot of snow. It was 4° F today. Will the crocus be blooming in 10 days? I think it’ll be closer to the last bit of March.

Crocuses last March.

7 responses

  1. This is too funny! I’ve never seen a deer squat. Where are you in MI? I live in Grand Rapids, & we often have deer nearby, although not in my own yard.

    Great post!

    March 4, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Suzanne. I live just SE of G.R. in Ada. There’s a ton of bird seed exposed as the snow melts and they’re coming right in for it!

      March 4, 2011 at 11:19 am

  2. scriptorobscura

    Excellent photos! Love the expression on the deer’s face in the first one :)
    You always have the best nature photos! :)

    March 5, 2011 at 2:26 am

    • melissakoski

      Thanks! It was a funny expression wasn’t it? Made me chuckle!

      March 5, 2011 at 8:13 pm

  3. Gorgeous photos as always – you’re very lucky where you live. I think I asked before what camera set up you had but not sure you replied??
    All the best Helen

    March 5, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    • melissakoski

      I did respond, but couldn’t find it when I scanned my comments. I’ll visit your blog tomorrow with my camera in hand to relay the info.! (: Melissa

      March 5, 2011 at 8:12 pm

  4. Pam Koski

    I do love the cardinals! Haven’t seen many this winter. Your photos are wonderful. So do enjoy them.

    March 5, 2011 at 8:48 pm

thoughts?

