Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Busy work

It’s been a week of busy work…lots and lots of painting. (bedrooms and furniture)

Last August

The garden in August. It's mostly blue and purple flowers in the spring. Can't wait!


Meanwhile back in winter reality….
Do you like the suet feeder hanging by a pipe cleaner?

An Eastern Bluebird and Downy Woodpecker holding as still as possible for over a minute. It's a sure sign of a hawk nearby since they'd normally squabble over the suet, not hang out.

We’re gaining daylight hours– well minutes– exponentially.

Yesterday's sunset.

6 responses

  1. humanitarikim

    Your garden looks fabulous and lush. I can’t WAIT for thing to start greening up and blooming!

    February 26, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • melissakoski

      I’m SO excited for spring. I won’t even mind all the raking and clean up I’ll have to do.

      February 26, 2011 at 9:22 am

  2. Wow, Beautiful! I wish it would get this green here in Wyoming. I will have lived here a year come March so I’ve seen all of the seasons now. Now I’ve got to find the right place for my veggie garden and put Shadow next to it. I’m not sure if I can get these beautiful blossoms though. Will have to live through your garden! :)

    February 26, 2011 at 11:00 am

    • melissakoski

      Oh wow Leah I didn’t realize you’ve only been in Wyoming a year. I loved figuring out the light and water the first year we moved here. I sure learned a lot about the land through silly mistakes! Initially we put a fire pit in the exact path of the water runoff…a stream after a snow melt or rain storm. (: We still laugh at ourselves about that dumb move. Our soil is heavy clay so it was more like a little pool.

      February 27, 2011 at 9:35 am

  3. Okay, I’m impressed. Great, absolutely great sunset photo. I like your photo of the bluebird and woodpecker. I agree, a sure sign of a raptor in the area, when all the birds disappear instantly, or freeze like these birds did.

    February 26, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    • melissakoski

      Oh thanks so much Bob. I’ve spent more time going through your beautiful galleries! I love that the birds give such obvious clues that a raptor is out in the yard. I can’t spot where they are most of the time though. Bob do you have a guess as to what this raptor is? A Sharp Shinned Hawk? It’s hard to spot when its perched in nearby trees because it blends so well!
      hawk?

      Have a good day Bob!

      February 27, 2011 at 9:46 am

thoughts?

