Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

The shit I deal with…

literally….

It’s back! I destroyed the nest in this box yesterday.

I destroyed THIS new House Sparrow nest mid day. The sparrow rebuilt part of a the nest by late afternoon. Three nests in three days, I wonder how many days we'll battle.

The results of active winter wildlife.

It's taken way too many years for me to face that the enormous amounts of shit are easier to shovel than rake. My back is pretty stiff from shoveling heavy wet snow.

A few years ago I complained to my sister about the water rushing through and then sitting in our yard during snow melts and summer storms. The lot is clay- messy and malleable. The water trench dug last year is successfully routing water to a nearby natural pond and not all over our backyard. It was my sister Amy’s idea about 4 years ago, but she managed to get my husband to think it was his idea during a yard project last summer. If you want anything done I suggest you just let Amy know…she gets any job/dream done .

The water trench.

4 responses

  1. I think the first days of spring are the worst for poo. It’s not the surprise you want seeing all the frozen poo melt under the snow. haha

    February 18, 2011 at 8:04 am

  2. melissakoski

    Luckily I also found a shovel and a sled to balance the poo.

    February 18, 2011 at 9:56 pm

  3. i may give you a hand on that.

    February 24, 2011 at 3:54 am

    • melissakoski

      Extra hands make for light work! I hope I’ve shovelled most of it up now.

      February 24, 2011 at 6:56 am

thoughts?

