Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Being fat is better…

The bluebirds are so round during the winter...barely recognizable compared to the sleek thin shape they take in the summer months. They look taller in the summer.. and not as cute.

Cedar Waxwing.


Two years ago I saved my pennys and bought 2 Elderberry Shrubs hoping to someday see a Cedar Waxwing. I’d read the shrub’s berries attract Cedar Waxwings. The week after I planted the tiny shrubs I noticed large flocks of Cedar Waxwings perching in one of the juniper trees and a dead tree across the street. It worked!

Crocus- coming soon to a Michigan yard soon.


I’m thrilled to see this was taken last year just one short month from today. Suck it winter!

3 responses

  1. Anonymous

    The fat one reminds me of Angry Birds.

    February 13, 2011 at 8:54 am

  2. What an incredible amount of wildlife you get to see. Beautiful photos. The blue bird reminds me a bit in shape at least of the European robin . I like seeing the subtle colouring in the feathers .

    February 24, 2011 at 4:08 am

    • melissakoski

      I love my area for the wildlife viewing/ I grew up in a city and thoroughly enjoy the wildlife I’ve seen since moving out a little further! I’ve enjoyed seeing birds I don’t get to see in my region through WordPress the past year too…

      February 24, 2011 at 7:00 am

thoughts?

