Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

Young people don’t use the term “rubbers”. They call condoms condoms…… Those crazy kids.

Oh last July, I miss your color and warmth.

The birds rarely startle when the temperatures are extremely cold.

Local rumor is temps will be above freezing next week. Rubber boot weather! I’d make a “rubbers” reference, but it’d date me.

It’s one of the only times of year I can throw boots on without tapping them out for spiders. I never even thought about it until my sister-in-law was bit by a brown recluse doing yard work.

This old looking female was with three male turkeys. They were complete and total dickheads to her, not letting her get under the bird feeders to eat. I ran out and gave her a secret stash of her very own corn. The male cardinals were chasing the females away from the feeders too. You should see how I over react when Jon tries to taste something off from my plate.

3 responses

  1. Tom Vander Ploeg

    Love your postings!! Being a nature guy myself! Keep up the great work!!! Love Uncle Tom

    February 11, 2011 at 7:52 am

    • melissakoski

      You and Dad are nature guys and true survivalists really. (: Have a wonderful weekend Uncle Tom. I’m still tempted to sneak to the mall and catch a picture of Aunt Mary while she’s distracted walking. Loves to you both!

      February 11, 2011 at 8:05 am

  2. beautiful flower color and action that adorable little bird …

    February 23, 2011 at 11:29 am

thoughts?

