Melissa Fischer. wild in Michigan. naturalist

How bitchy can you get?

My husband and I watched a friend Steve’s new show together last night. It took place in Alaska.

My husband went from suggesting we take the family to Mexico over spring break to proposing we go on an Alaskan cruise or camp in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula just a few minutes into the show. Spring break in northern Michigan means snow…

Clear sunny skies over the weekend were a rare treat. Michiganders are notoriously bitchy by February from an almost total lack of sun for a few months

This willow (non-weeping) drops enough snags to consistently feed our campfires.

A special thanks to my friend, Kelly Stewart, who identified my tree as an American Sycamore.

I think the one field guide I don't own is a tree guide.

A Red-breated Woodpecker. The red is hidden behind the branch.

2 responses

  1. Jim Koski

    Your website is getting better all the time.
    Mom was actually pregnant with Jon when we took a spring break vacation in the UP. By my standards ir was one of the best we ever had. People were super friendly, (probably hadn’t seen anyone in months). Weather was chilly but not unbearable. And prices were great. I think you especially would enjoy April in da UP. Love Dad

    January 10, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    • melissakoski

      Thanks Dad. I’m sure I’d love it. We’d have fun showing the girls where we went after we got engaged and all the Koski Roads. They would think we were famous. xoxo

      January 11, 2011 at 7:04 am

thoughts?

